Enhanced Services for Asylees and Vulnerable Noncitizens (ESAVN) Program

ESAVN Services   |    ESAVN Program Service Providers   |    Award Announcement

The ESAVN program provides state level outreach and resettlement case management services for persons who are currently residing in California and are granted asylum by the United States (U.S.) Attorney General or the U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security, or who are eligible for assistance and services as members of “vulnerable populations” under the Trafficking and Crime Victim Assistance Program (TCVAP).

Eligible Populations

  • Individuals granted asylum
  • Non-citizen survivors of human trafficking, domestic violence, and other serious crimes who are preparing to file or have filed petitions for the T-Visa or have filed petitions for or received the U-Visa non-immigrant status with the appropriate federal agency.

ESAVN Services

  • Provide culturally appropriate and linguistically responsive case management services for asylees and vulnerable non-citizens for up to 90-days within the first year following the grant of asylum or after having been deemed vulnerable non-citizens eligible for services under Welfare and Institutions Code Section 13283.
  • Assist in accessing public social benefits
  • Provide cultural orientations regarding civic engagement and direct services including English language classes, pre-employment services, and job placement.
  • Assist in navigating social services and health care systems to ensure equitable access to government public benefit assistance.

ESAVN Program Service Providers

ESAVN program serve all regions of California.  Find an ESAVN program service provider.

Northern California Region Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Kings, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, Yuba
Central Valley Region Alpine, Amador, Fresno, Kern, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, Stanislaus, Tulare, Tuolumne
Bay Area Region Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Monterey, San Benito, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz
Southern California Region Imperial, Inyo, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura

Award Announcement

The $8 million funding has been awarded by CDSS to qualified nonprofit organizations across four geographic regions for a project period beginning July 1, 2022 ending June 30, 2023.

Questions may be submitted to ESAVN@dss.ca.gov.

Back To Top