Supplemental Rate Payments
For Family Child Care Providers
In accordance with the agreement between Child Care Providers United (CCPU) and the state, supplemental rate payments have been sent out to licensed family child care home and license-exempt (family, friend and neighbor) providers who care for children enrolled in State subsidized voucher programs
- One-time payments were issued to eligible family child care providers in Spring and Summer 2022.
- Eligible providers will also receive monthly payments during Fiscal Year 2022-23 (July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2023).
The Foundation for California Community Colleges (FCCC) is the entity selected to issue these payments to providers.
You can visit the Foundation for California Community Colleges webpage for more information about these payments.
CDSS also has a webpage dedicated to the Family Child Care Provider Supplemental Rate Payments.
For Child Care Centers
Direct Service Contractors
The following center-based contractors are eligible for a one-time supplemental rate payment
- General Child Care and Development (CCTR)
- Migrant Child Care and Development (CMIG)
- California State Preschool (CSPP)
- Child Care and Development Services for Children with Severe Disabilities (CHAN)
In consultation with the Legislature, CDE and CDSS determined that the funding appropriated for direct-service provider reimbursement rate supplements was sufficient to fund the difference between the reimbursement rates as of January 1, 2022, and funding equivalent to the 85th percentile of the 2018 RMR survey. To this end, one-time, lump-sum payments will be distributed to direct-service child care and development contractors in Fall 2022 based on reimbursement categories under the equivalent to the 85th percentile of the 2018 RMR survey. Based on enrollments from October 2021, children reported as infant, toddler, and over three were assessed by RMR age groupings of infant, preschool, and school age. In counties where the equivalent of the RMR category exceeds the 85th percentile, no supplemental rates will be received.
Funding could be on behalf of RMR-equivalent infant, toddler, or over three-year-old children, or a combination of those age groups. CDSS will distribute payments via the State Controller’s Office to contractors outside of their regular contracts.
This funding must be reported on enrollment, attendance, and fiscal reports in the same manner as other funding received to support the program. This funding is restricted income and should be reported only when the associated expenditures are also reported. As with all federal and state funds allocated for child care and development programs, the use of these funds is subject to audit, and must be appropriately tracked.
Private Centers Accepting Vouchers
SB 115 appropriated funding to provide temporary reimbursement rate supplements to licensed child care centers who accept subsidy vouchers for the following programs:
- CalWORKs Stage One, Stage Two (C2AP), and Stage Three (C3AP)
- California Alternative Payment Program (CAPP)
- California Migrant Alternative Payment Program (CMAP)
- Emergency Child Care Bridge Program for Foster Children (Bridge Program)
One-time, lump-sum payments will be issued in Fall 2022 to licensed child care centers who served children enrolled in voucher-based child care and development programs in October 2021.
Payment amounts were calculated based on the number of children served in that month, at $700-$1,031 per child, depending on region. Regions are identified as Northern, Bay Area, Central, Los Angeles, or Southern. The per child supplemental rate will vary by region as follows:
Northern County Rate Per Child: $700
- Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo, Yuba
Bay Area County Rate Per Child: $1,031
- Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma
Central County Rate Per Child: $741
- Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Monterey, Sacramento, San Benito, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, Stanislaus, Tulare
Los Angeles County Rate Per Child: $930
Southern County Rate Per Child: $823
- Imperial, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, Santa Barbara, Ventura
Alternative Payment Programs (APPs) will distribute payments to eligible child care centers after they receive a completed ARPA survey from the child care center.