

August 15, 1997

ALL COUNTY INFORMATION NOTICE I-51-97

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS AFDC PROGRAM COORDINATORS COUNTY FISCAL OFFICERS GAIN COORDINATORS REASON FOR THIS TRANSMITTAL

- **[★**] State Law Change
- [] Federal Law or Regulation Change
- [] Court Order
- [] Clarification Requested by One or More Counties
- [] Initiated by CDSS

SUBJECT: CalWORKs IMPLEMENTATION

This letter is to update you on the status of California's welfare reform efforts. On August 11, 1997 the Governor signed Assembly Bill (AB) 1542, the primary vehicle overhauling several existing welfare programs currently operating under the authority of the federal Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) program. AB 1542 eliminates the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and the Greater Avenues for Independence (GAIN) programs and replaces them with the California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) program; the new program providing assistance and services to families with needy children. Under CalWORKs, aid will be time-limited and recipients must meet hourly work requirements. The legislation contains many other provisions directed at encouraging self-sufficiency and personal responsibility which are described in Attachment A.

During the budget process the Legislature passed other bills as well which, among other things, create a state-only Food Stamp Program for certain individuals, deny benefits to convicted drug felons and eliminate the California Alternative Assistance Program. Information on those provisions will be provided under separate cover.

The CalWORKs legislation authorizes the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to implement the statute initially through the All County Letter (ACL) process. In order to meet the January 1, 1998 implementation date, CDSS will issue instructions and guidelines to counties via ACL. Through this process, counties will receive the guidance necessary for program planning and implementation. Emergency regulations will be adopted no later than July 1, 1998.

IMPLEMENTATION TIMELINES

Many provisions of CalWORKs such as time limits and grant structure changes are effective January 1, 1998. Counties may begin implementation of CalWORKs as soon as they submit their plan to CDSS or January 1, 1998, whichever is later. All recipients of aid must be enrolled into CalWORKs no later than January 1, 1999. The new Welfare and Institutions (W&I) Code Section 10532 also provides a deadline by which all new applicants for aid be enrolled into CalWORKs. The following chart outlines the timeframes for implementation.

PROVISION OF W&I CODE SECTION 10532	DATE
Enactment of the CalWORKs program.	August 11, 1997
Issuance of a planning allocation and county plan instructions 30 days after enactment.	September 10, 1997
Counties submit plans for implementation of CalWORKs within four months of the issuance of the planning allocation letter.	January 10, 1998 (assuming final date for plan submission)
CDSS has 30 days to either certify the plan or notify the county that the plan is not complete or consistent with statutory requirements. (If a county is notified that their plan is not complete or consistent, the county has 30 days to resubmit a revised plan to CDSS.)	February 9, 1998
A county shall begin enrolling all new applicants for aid in the welfare-to-work program no later than six months from the date of issuance of the planning allocation letter or	March 10, 1998 or
two months after the certification of the county plan, whichever is later.	April 9, 1998 (assuming plan certified on February 9)

COUNTY PLANS

The legislative language regarding CalWORKs plan preparation and certification outlines a series of county and CDSS responsibilities. County Plan guidelines will be developed and provided to counties by September 10, 1997. Technical assistance in preparation of the county plans will be provided by CDSS during the four-month plan development period.

PLANNING ALLOCATIONS

Amounts budgeted for the support of counties' administrative activities to provide benefit payments and to provide work activities and appropriate supportive services will be distributed in a single allocation to the counties. Unexpended amounts may be rolled over and expended for the same purposes until July 1, 2000.

In order to assist counties in the preparation of their CalWORKs plan, CDSS will issue an allocation letter no later than September 10, 1997 which will contain additional information. This allocation will contain the amounts identified in the AFDC Administrative allocation letter issued to each county on June 24, 1997 and the appropriate components of the GAIN allocation identified in ACL 96-97-51 dated May 28, 1997. In addition, adjustments will be made for all appropriate premises, including funding for the retraining of county workers.

FISCAL CLAIMING AND ADVANCES

CDSS recognizes that revisions of the current fiscal policies for administrative expense and assistance claiming may be necessary and beneficial to counties as a result of the implementation of CalWORKs. CDSS will be working closely with the California Welfare Directors Association Fiscal Committee to revise, as appropriate, the Cost Allocation Plan and claiming systems. Until counties are notified of changes, CDSS's current reimbursement and advancing systems and the administrative and assistance claiming instructions will remain in effect.

DEMONSTRATION PROJECTS

CDSS will be issuing an ACL in the near future with further information on the demonstration projects authorized by the CalWORKs legislation. CDSS expects to give highest priority for demonstration projects related to alternative monthly reporting and the Child Support Assurance projects. We plan to approve those projects no later than January 1, 1998. Attachment B contains a listing of all demonstration projects created by the CalWORKs legislation.

DATA COLLECTION AND STATISTICAL REPORTING

Counties should continue to submit state reports as currently required. The Review and Evaluation Bureau, through the modified Quality Control Information System, will randomly sample the TANF population to meet federal disaggregate reporting requirements. County Performance Sample staff, who previously conducted Quality Control reviews for AFDC, will be responsible for collecting the required case-specific data from case files. An assessment is

3

being conducted to determine which reports should be modified, added or deleted to meet state and federal welfare reform requirements.

TOPIC	CONTACT PERSON	ORGANIZATION	NUMBER
Planning Allocations Incentives and Penalties	Angie Sinclaire	County Cost Analysis Bureau	(916) 657-3806
County Plans	Tom Burke	Operations Improvement Bureau	(916) 445-2154
Demonstration Projects	Marcia Dahlin	AFDC Policy Development Bureau	(916) 654-1322
General CalWORKs	Lyn Vice	AFDC Policy Development Bureau	(916) 654-1322
Welfare to Work Services	Karen Kennedy	Employment Programs	(916) 654-1424
Child Care	Bobbie Holm	Employment Programs/ Child Care Section	(916) 657-2144
Food Stamps	LeAnne Torres	Food Stamp Program Bureau	(916) 654-2135
Fraud	Christine Kamber McCaleb	Fraud Bureau	(916) 445-0031
Fiscal Claiming Instructions	Glenn Freitas	Fiscal Policy Bureau	(916) 654-0951
Advances and Reimbursements	Didi Okamoto	Financial Services Bureau	(916) 654-1626
Data Collection and Statistical Reporting	Cindy Halverstadt	Information Services Bureau	(916) 653-4180

If you have any questions specific to this ACIN, please contact the following:

Sincerely,

ANNE BERSINGER Chief Deputy Director

Attachments

c: CWDA

MAJOR ITEMS OF WELFARE REFORM CONTAINED IN AB 1542

Prepared by:

California Department of Social Services August 14, 1997

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ъ. –

AFDC

Diversion/Prevention Assistance
Child Support Assurance (CSA) Demonstration Projects
Deprivation
Immunizations
School Attendance
Denial of Benefits to Fleeing Felons
Categorical Eligibility
Asset Limits
California Savings and Asset Project
Grant Levels
Income: Definition
Income: Treatment of Lump Sums
Net Income Tests
Grant Structure: Income Disregards
Grant Structure: Child Support Disregard
Redeterminations and Elimination of Current Monthly Budgeting Pilots
Self-Employment Income
Voucher for Sanctions
Job Plus Demo

Time Limits	• • • • • •	 • • • • • • • • •	 7
Time Limits: Exemptions		 • • • • • • • • •	 8
Time Limits: 20% Hardship Exemptions		 	 9
Safety Net		 ••••	 9
Domestic Violence Exemptions		 •••••	 9
Sponsored Aliens		 	 10

EMPLOYMENT PROGRAMS

.

Sequence of Welfare-to-Work Activities 11
Hours of Participation
Appraisal
Work Participation Exemptions:
Parents with Infants
Caretaker Relatives
Deferrals
Good Cause
Cal-Learn
Duration of Up-front Job Search
Self-Initiated Programs
Assessment
Who Conducts Assessments
Allowable Work Activities
Welfare-to-Work Plans
Treatment for Substance Abuse

Mental Health Services
Nondisplacement
Displacement Grievance Procedures
Conciliation
Sanction for Noncompliance with Work Requirements
Community Service
Supportive Services
Grant Based On-the-Job Training (OJT) 21
Job Retention Services
Contracting Out
Microenterprise Pilots
CHILD CARE
Child Care Governance and Funding
Child Care Earned Income Disregard 23
Child Care Reimbursement Rate
Child Care TANF Recipients Transitioning to Work
High Quality Child Care Programs
CHILD SUPPORT
Child Support: Definition of "Cooperation"
Good Cause Exception Determination: "Cooperation"

. .

Child Support Failure to Cooperate .	• •	•••	•••	• •	•••	•••	• • •	•	•••	•••	•.•	••	•••	•	•••	•	• •	•••	• •	25
Child Support Registry Implementation	on.	•••						•	• •			• •	••	•					•••	25

Assignment and Cooperation	26
Child SupportCentralized Collection and Distribution	26

ADULT PROGRAMS

General Assistance (GA)	26
REVIEW & INTEGRITY	

Fraud: Recipient Penalties
Collection of Overpayments
Research, Monitoring and Evaluation: Evaluation of CalWork Program
Research, Monitoring and Evaluation: Interagency Data Development and Use
Research, Monitoring and Evaluation: Role of University
County Demonstration and Waivers
Performance Outcomes and County Accountability
County Plan and "Ramp Up"

AUTOMATED SYSTEMS

Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) Act		 	
Federal Sanctions for Failure to Meet Ou	tcomes	 	30

ADMINISTRATION

Welfare Reform Steering Committee	31
Fiscal Incentives	31
Single Allocation	32

Allocation to Counties	. 32
County Maintenance of Effort (MOE) Requirement and State/County Sharing Ratios	. 32
TANF Funding for Juvenile Probation Services	. 33
Tribal CalWORKs	33

C:\OFFICE\WPWIN\WPDOCS\INDEX.WPD

Contained in AB 1542

August 14, 1997

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Diversion/Prevention Assistance Section 58 Pages 98-99 W&I Code Sec. 11266.5	No provision.	 Counties are required to determine whether an eligible applicant would benefit from receipt of lump sum cash or noncash diversion services to avoid the need for extended assistance. Applicants may decline participation in diversion and receive aid. If the individual who received diversion assistance later reapplies and is determined eligible for aid, the county shall, at the option of the recipient either (1) recoup the amount of the diversion payment received from the grant over a period specified by the county or (2) count the number of months for which the diversion payment would be equivalent to in aid towards the cumulative 60-month time limit. Partial months would not count toward the time limit. Diversion shall not be considered income for food stamps, to the extent permitted by federal law. Child support payments collected shall not offset diversion payments. Family is eligible for Medi-Cal and child care during the diversion period, if they otherwise meet the eligibility requirements.
Child Support Assurance (CSA) Demonstration Projects Section 182 Pages 262-265 W&I Code Secs. 18241-18247	No provision.	 Authorizes the Department to approve child support assurance demonstration projects in up to three counties to test models of child support assurance (CSA) for families otherwise cligible for CalWORKs, with earnings and a child support order. Families participating in the demonstration project would receive a guaranteed child support payment in lieu of a CalWORKs grant. At least one of the projects must conform to the design specified in the legislation. The county determines the number of participants in that county, but no more than 5 percent of the county's CalWORKs caseload or 8,000 persons, whichever is greater. The county's CSA administrative costs are paid from its allocation for administration.

Except where noted, page numbers refer to version of AB 1542 as amended on August 4, 1997

1

Contained in AB 1542

August 14, 1997

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Deprivation Section 51 Page 92 W&I Code Sec. 11201	To establish eligibility on the basis of unemployment, the county uses a "look back" to identify employment during a specified number of quarters within the prior four years. In addition, unemployed parents who are determined to be the principal earner, must have worked less than 100 hours in the 30 days prior to eligibility for aid.	Eliminates the "look back" and reduces the 30-day unemployment requirement to four weeks. Retains the 100-hour rule for applicants.
Immunizations Section 57 Pages 97-98 W&I Code Sec. 11265.8	No provision.	Requires applicants to provide documentation that all nonschool- age children have received appropriate immunizations within 30 days of eligibility for Medi-Cal and recipients within 45 days of their next redetermination. If good cause exists for lack of access, 30 additional days will be given to secure the immunizations. Failure to secure the immunizations would result in a reduction of cash aid equal to all parents' share of the grant. The grant will be restored once documentation is received. An exemption is provided where immunizations are contrary to beliefs and where immunizations are medically inappropriate.

2

Contained in AB 1542

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
School Attendance Section 54 Pages 94-95 W&I Code Sec. 11253.5	No current requirement for children under 16 to attend school. Eligible children ages 16-18 not enrolled in school are required to register with GAIN and could be sanctioned if they fail to meet GAIN program requirements which can include educational activities. Additionally, California operates the San Diego School Attendance Demonstration Project (SADP) and Merced County Attendance Project (MerCAP). These pilots reduce the grant by the amount attributable to the child when a child is not attending school regularly.	Requires all school-age children, except those participating in Cal- Learn or a county pilot school attendance project, to attend school. The requirement is included in the recipient's welfare-to-work plan and the county has the option to determine how often to require documentation. When a child under sixteen is not attending school regularly, the needs of all adults will not be considered in computing the grant. When a child aged sixteen or older is not attending school regularly or participating in work activities, the needs of the child shall not be considered when computing the grant, unless the county determines that good cause exists.
Denial of Benefits to Fleeing Felons Section 154 Pages 229 W&I Code Sec. 11486.5	No provision.	Implements the federal provision that denies aid to persons who are fleeing felons or probation or parole violators.
Categorical Eligibility Section 48, 161 Page 91 W&I Code Sec. 11160	All AFDC recipients are categorically eligible for Medi-Cal and Food Stamps.	To the extent federal financial participation (FFP) is available, AFDC recipients will receive Medi-Cal. To the extent FFP is available, state may establish procedures for common eligibility determinations for all programs that aid needy families.
Asset Limits Section 43 Page 87 W&I Code Sec. 11155	Families applying for AFDC may have \$1,000 in personal and real property and \$1,500 equity in an automobile. Recipient families may have \$2,000 in personal and real property, \$4,500 equity in an automobile and up to \$5,000 in a restricted account. In the Food Stamp program, applicants and recipients cannot have personal and real property valued in excess of \$2,000. The first vehicle may be exempt if necessary to employment or to transport a disabled family member. The value of any other automobile shall count toward the resource limit and shall be the greater of the amount of vehicle worth in excess of \$4,650 or the equity value.	Adopts asset limits in the Food Stamp Program. Counties shall determine value of personal property and automobiles in conformance with methods established under the Food Stamp program. Provides for restricted accounts of up to \$5, 000.

August 14, 1997

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
California Savings and Asset Project Section 21 Pages 55-56 W&I Code Sec. 11155.2	Recipient families may have up to \$5000 in a restricted savings account (for use in specific purposes; i.e. purchase of a home, education of a child, or to start a business). These funds are exempt from consideration when determining continued eligibility for aid and the amount of the grant.	Establishes the California Savings and Asset Project to provide matching federal funds in an individual development account, in an amount up to \$3000. Fiduciary organizations may provide amounts in excess of the \$3000 if contributed solely through private sources. Operation of this project is contingent upon receipt of federal funds other than TANF. All funds in these accounts are exempt from consideration when determining eligibility for aid and the grant amount. The Governor would choose the administering agency for the project.
Grant Levels Section 131 Pages 197-205 W&I Code Sec. 11453.1	On 1/1/97, Maximum Aid Payments (MAP) were reduced 4.9% for all recipients. A MAP cost of living adjustment is scheduled to resume on 10/31/97.	Extends the 4.9% MAP reduction and the freeze on the MAP COLA through 10/31/98.
Income: Definition Section 42 Pages 90-91 W&I Code Sec. 11157	Countable income includes wages, interest, lump sums, and child/spousal support. Income that is not counted includes some school loans and grants, payments from certain public sources and up to \$30 per quarter per person for any small nonrecurring cash gifts.	Retains AFDC income definition except that income which is received too infrequently to be reasonably anticipated is exempt as in the Food Stamp program.
Income: Treatment of Lump Sums Section 46 Page 90 W&I Code Sec. 11157	Treats lump sums as income in the month received and requires a period of ineligibility (POI) be established based on the amount of lump sum and the need standard of the family.	Retains the treatment of lump sum as income in the month received. However, a period of ineligibility (POI) is established only if the recipient transfers assets for less than fair market value.
Net Income Tests Section 134 Pages 206-207 W&I Code Sec. 11450.12	In order to be eligible for AFDC, applicants and recipients must undergo a net test of eligibility. For both applicants and recipients, earned income, less certain deductions, may not exceed the MBSAC.	For applicants, earned income, less disregards, may not exceed Maximum Basic Standard of Adequate Care (MBSAC). For recipients, income, after all disregards, may not exceed MAP.

4

Subject Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Grant Structure: Income Disregards Section 138, 139 Pages 207-208 W&I Code Secs. 11451.5, 11451.6	When calculating grants, the first \$90 from earnings, \$30 and 1/3 of the remainder of earned income are disregarded. In addition, \$175 of child care expenses for each child age two and over and \$200 for each child under age two is excluded as well as the cost of special care for other dependents.	Establishes new income disregards. A \$225 income disregard is first applied to disability-based income. If disability-based income is less than \$225, the remainder of the \$225 disregard is applied to earned income. Fifty percent (50%) of any remaining earned income is disregarded. Disability-based income in excess of \$225, is deducted dollar for dollar from the Maximum Aid Payment (MAP) as is all other unearned income.
	The need standard (MBSAC) is higher than the maximum payment level (MAP) allowed to AFDC families. The difference between the MBSAC and the MAP creates a "gap" that acts as a work incentive in that it allows less income to be counted when calculating grants. This "gap" can be filled with either earned or unearned income.	Eliminates the current "gap" between the MBSAC and MAP when calculating grants. Net countable income obtained from applying the income disregards is deducted from the MAP.
Grant Structure: Child Support Disregard Section 147 Pages 215-217 W&I Code Sec. 11475.3	A custodial parent on AFDC receives the first \$50 of monthly child support collections, without any reduction in the family's grant. Collections above the \$50 threshold are used to offset government costs of AFDC grants.	Retains current law.
Redeterminations and Elimination of Current Monthly Budgeting Pilots Section 56 Page 95 W&I Code Sec. 11265.2	Requires recipient monthly reporting under penalty of perjury of all changes affecting eligibility. Regulations establish completeness criteria for monthly reports submitted, as well as penalties for failure to report and for late reporting. Methods for budgeting and timeframes for completing redeterminations are specified.	Requires CDSS to conduct a pilot in up to six counties for an alternative recipient reporting and budgeting system. Allows statewide expansion after one year without need for law change.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Self-Employment Income Section 9 Pages 89-90 W&I Code Sec. 11155.3	Regulations define self-employed income as the profit from business enterprise. Allowable business expenses which are directly related to producing the goods or services are subtracted from gross receipts to determine the profit or self-employed income on a monthly basis. This income is then treated like any other carned income.	Gives self-employed recipients the choice of establishing their business expenses based on a standard deduction of 40 percent of gross income or using Food Stamp rules which average income and expenses.
Vouchers for Sanctions Section 143 Page 212 W&I Code Sec. 11453.2	A county may, at its option, provide restricted payments on behalf of a recipient to the provider of shelter or utilities, or both, if the county determines that the recipient has demonstrated an inability to manage funds in the best interests of the child or upon the request of the recipient.	Requires that a county issue vouchers or vendor payments for at least rent and utilities payments for assistance units in which a parent or caretaker relative has been subject to sanction of a consecutive period of not less than three months. Vouchers or vendor payments must continue until the parent or caretaker relative is no longer subject to the sanction.
Jobs Plus Demo Section 181 Pages 261-262 W&I Code Sec. 18240	Current law allows financial incentives by excluding the first \$90 of earned income and \$30 and 1/3 of the remainder of earnings from consideration for purposes of calculating the grant.	Establishes waiver authority for CDSS to allow "more generous" work-related financial incentives for "working-age" residents of Job-Plus sites in Los Angeles County.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Time Limits Section 144 Pages 212-213 W&I Code Sec. 11454	Families are eligible as long as there is an eligible minor child in the home.	Imposes a cumulative 60-month time limit on receipt of aid, including TANF aid received from other states. Applicants will be eligible for 18 cumulative-months and current recipients will be eligible for 24 cumulative months. Aid can continue after the 18- and 24-month time limits, if the county certifies that there is no job currently available and the recipient participates in community service. Counties may also extend the 18-month time limit for up to 6 months if the extension is likely to result in unsubsidized employment or employment is not available in the local labor market.
·		The 60-month time limit begins on January 1, 1998 and no months on aid prior to January 1, 1998 will count against any of the time limits. The 18-month time limit for applicants in a county shall begin no later than six months from the date the state issues the county planning allocation letter or two months after the certification of the county plan, whichever is later. The 24-month time limit for current recipients shall begin on the date the recipient signs, or refuses to sign, a welfare-to-work plan. Counties are required to enroll all current recipients no later than January 1, 1999.

Subject	l'anne de la presentation de la	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Time Limits - Exemptions	No provisions.		Exempts from the 60-month time limit parents or caretaker relatives who are: 1) aged 60 or older; 2) nonparent caretaker relatives;
Section 144 Pages 151-155 W&I Code Sec. 11454		•	 3) caring for ill or incapacitated household members; 4) not included in the assistance unit; 5) receiving State Supplemental Program, In Home Supportive Services, State Disability Insurance or Worker's Compensation Temporary Disability Insurance benefits; or 6) incapable of maintaining employment or participating in welfare-to-work activities as determined by the county.
			Also exempts from the 60-month time limit months in which the recipient is: 1) exempt from work participation requirements due to disability that is expected to last at least 30 days; 2) aged; 3) not included in the assistance unit; 4) caring for ill or incapacitated household members; or 5) eligible for Cal Learn. Also exempt is any month when the cost of the cash aid provided to the recipient is fully reimbursed by child support.
			Exempts from the 18- and 24-month time limits any month in which the recipient is not required to participate in welfare-to- work activities due to a condition that is expected to last at least 30 days, or is a minor parent eligible for, participating in or exempt from Cal-Learn or participating in another approved teen parent program.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Time Limits: 20% Hardship Exemptions Section 146 Pages 214-215 W&I Code Sec. 11454.6	No provision.	If a county's 60-month time limit exemptions exceed 20% of its caseload and the state's overall percentage also exceeds 20%, the county is responsible for the amount of aid paid from TANF funds for cases in excess of the 20%. CDSS may determine good cause and reduce or waive the county share.
Safety Net Section 63, 135 Pages 102, 206 W&I Code Secs. 11320.15, 11450.13	Families ineligible for AFDC may be eligible for county General Assistance, Food Stamps, and community-based services.	When the 60-month time limit expires, provides for assistance that is the family's Maximum Aid Payment (MAP) less the amount of the adult's portion of the grant. The adult is not required to participate in work activities, unless counties provide welfare-to- work services coupled with community services. Safety net benefits may be provided in the form of cash or vouchers at the county's option.
Domestic Violence Exemptions Section 155 Pages 230-233 W&I Code Secs. 11495, 11495.1	No provision	 Requires CDSS to convene a task force to develop protocols and curriculum for domestic violence and to issue regulations no later than January 1, 1999. Requires counties to screen and identify domestic violence victims; refer to counseling and supportive services; and waive program requirements where appropriate pursuant to good cause. Counties shall use available protocols pending issuance of regulations. Defines abuse and what evidence is sufficient to establish abuse pending adoption of regulations.

August 14, 1997

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Sponsored Aliens Section 40	Aliens sponsored by public or private agencies are ineligible for a period of three years after entry into the United States. Ineligibility ceases if the sponsoring agency no longer exists or is unable to meet	Requires as a condition of eligibility, that sponsored aliens provide income and resource information on the sponsor. The income and resources of the sponsor are included when determining eligibility
Page 84 W&I Code Sec.	the alien's needs.	and grant amount for that alien.
11008.135	As a condition of eligibility, sponsored aliens are required to provide information/documentation on their sponsor. The sponsor and his/her spouse shall have their income and resources deemed available to the aliens. The aliens and the sponsor are jointly responsible for	
	overpayments. Specific categories of aliens are exempted from the sponsorship rules.	

/var/export/home/wpi/dwilliam/afdc.wpd

Contained in AB 1542

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Sequence of Welfare-to- Work Activities Section 62 Pages 100-102 W&I Code Sec. 11320.1 Section 107 Pages 156-161 W&I Code Sec. 11325.22	 After application for aid, county may require participation in the following sequence of activities: Appraisal followed by job search for 3 weeks, which may be shortened or lengthened (to 8 weeks) with participant agreement. (Applicants not required to participate further until aid is granted.) Assessment and participation in assigned activity(ies) under an employment plan reflected in a participant contract. Each activity (except basic education) limited to 24 months with 6-month extension. Job search upon completion of plan; if employment not found, reappraisal to determine need for further education/training. Assignment of further education/training if needed. If not, activities limited to work experience and job search. 	 Requires participation in the following sequence of activities: Orientation, appraisal, and job search for up to 4 weeks that may be shortened (upon agreement of recipient or due to emotional/mental disability that limits participation) or lengthened (if employment is likely). County option to require participation by applicants with their consent. Assessment and participation in assigned activities under a welfare-to-work plan for up to 18 months with possible 6-month extension (24 months for existing recipients). Upon completion of activities in plan, reappraisal to determine if further activities are needed to achieve employment. If not, activities are limited to unsubsidized employment; work experience; job skills training directly relating to employment; and domestic violence, substance abuse, and mental health services. After 18/24 months on aid and the county certifies there is no job available for the recipient, community service until 5-year limit is reached. Activities must meet minimum participation hours.
Hours of Participation Section 86 Pages 131-132 W&I Code Sec. 11322.8 Section 83 Page 126 W&I Code Sec. 11322.65	Requires adult in 2-parent family to participate in accordance with federal requirement which was at least 16 hours/week of specified work activities; sets no minimum hours for single parents. Limits maximum number of hours to 32/week for parents who are caretakers of children ages 3 through 5 and 40/week for all others.	Requires participation hours to meet federal requirements. For single parents, requires weekly hours of at least 20 beginning 1/1/98, 26 beginning 7/1/98, and 32 beginning 7/1/99. County option to require up to 32 hours prior to 7/1/99. Requires at least 35 hours/week for 2- parent families, which may be met by both parents if federal law allows for it and one participates at least 20 hours/week. Requires SIP participants to concurrently participate in work or other work activities as needed to achieve 32 hours/week. Requires counties to limit participation in activities that are restricted in federal work participating in activities that meet the number of participation hours required by federal law. Does not apply this provision if the statewide percentage of participation in restricted activities is less than limits in federal law.

Contained in AB 1542

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Appraisal Section 105 Page 154 W&I Code Sec. 11325.2 Section 107 Pages 156-161 W&I Code Sec. 11325.22	Upon entering the welfare-to-work program, requires recipients and applicants to complete appraisal prior to job search period.	Upon entering the welfare-to-work program, requires recipients (and applicants, at county option) to complete orientation and appraisal during the job search period.
Work Participation- Exemptions: Section 65 Pages 104-109 W&I Code Sec. 11320.3	 Exempts from GAIN participation: An individual under 16 years of age. A child attending elementary, secondary, vocational, or technical school on a full-time basis. An individual who is ill or incapacitated An individual who is of advanced age. An individual so remote from a program activity that participation is precluded. A parent or other relative who has primary responsibility for personally providing care for an ill or incapacitated member of the household. A parent or other relative who has primary responsibility for personally providing care for a child under age 3. A woman who is pregnant for whom it has been medically verified that the anticipated delivery date is during the month of required participation or is within the six-month period immediately following the month of participation. An individual in unsubsidized employment for at least 30 hours/week at the minimum wage. An individual who is a full-time volunteer serving under the Volunteers in Service to America (VISTA) program. Custodial parents participating in the Cal-Learn program. 	 Exemptions from the welfare-to-work requirements include: An individual under 16 years of age. A child attending an elementary, secondary, or vocational school on a full-time basis. An individual who is disabled and has medical verification that the disability is expected to last at least 30 days and significantly impairs the individual's ability to be employed. An individual of advanced age. Specified nonparent caretaker relatives. (See details below) An individual caring for an ill or incapacitated member of the household. Individuals with young children. (See details below) A woman who is pregnant with medical verification that the pregnancy impairs her ability to be regularly employed. Custodial parents participating in the Cal-Learn program.

Contained in AB 1542

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Parents with infants	Exempts a parent or other relative who has primary responsibility of providing care for a child under age three.	For first child, exempts individuals caring for children under 6 months of age. Provides counties flexibility to lower age to 12 weeks or raise age to 1 year, depending upon availability of child care and job opportunities. For any subsequent children, exemption for 12 weeks, which county may extend to 6 months depending on availability of child care and jobs.
Caretaker relatives	See above.	Exempts nonparent caretaker relatives who have primary responsibility for caring for a child who is either a dependent or ward of the court or at risk of placement in foster care and the caretaking responsibilities exceed those considered normal parenting responsibilities such that they impair employment.
Deferrals Section 103 Pages 150-153 W&I Code Sec. 11325	 Defers participation for persons under the following conditions: Self-initiated full-time participation in education or training program to earn license, certificate, or degree that leads to employment. Allows completion of semester or quarter if requirements not met. Employed at least 15 hours/week for at least minimum wage and participating in approved education, training, or work experience; total of 30 hours in combined activities required. No legal right to work in the United States. Emotional/mental problems or severe family crisis. Membership in a union that controls referrals and hiring. Temporary layoff with definite callback date. Individual or family member has medically verified illness. Woman in first trimester of pregnancy. Lack of child care. Seriously dependent on drugs/alcohol. (County may require participation in substance abuse treatment, if available.) 	Eliminates all deferrals and instead allows good cause criteria for temporary situations.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Good Cause Section 66 Pages 110-111 W&I Code Sec. 11320.31 Section 115 Pages 172-175 W&I Code Sec. 11325.8 Section 122 Page 188 W&I Code Sec. 11327.9	 Participants have good cause for failing to work/participate if the employment/activity: Discriminates on the basis of age, sex, race, religion, ethnic origin, or physical or mental handicap. Exceeds the daily/weekly hours of work customary to the job. Results in travel that exceeds two hours (or 2 miles if walking) in round-trip commute time. Involves conditions in violation of health and safety standards. Does not provide for worker's compensation insurance. Causes an interruption in approved education or training in progress (excluding work experience and community service) or prevents a return to the individual's regular job. Requires the individual to violate the terms of his/her union membership. Provides numerous other good cause criteria for such reasons as: Conditions exist that are similar to those allowing exemption or deferral. Job would result in a net loss of income. Job/activity would impair the individual's health. Job/activity requires individual to be away from home overnight. Any substantial reason at the discretion of the county. 	 Recipients have good cause and cannot be sanctioned for failing to work/participate if the employment/activity: Discriminates on basis of age, sex, race, religion, national origin, or disability. Exceeds the daily or weekly hours of work customary to the job. Results in travel that exceeds a total of two hours (or 2 miles if walking) round-trip commute time. A participant who refuses a job due to travel time must participate in community service activities. Involves conditions in violation of health and safety standards. Does not provide worker's compensation insurance. Causes an interruption in approved education or training in progress that will lead to a job and self-sufficiency (excluding work experience and community service). Requires the individual to violate the terms of his/her union membership. Provides good cause for individuals who have a temporary condition or circumstance which prevents or significantly impairs their ability to be regularly employed or participate in welfare-to-work activities. Requires to rowice you cause not less than every 3 months. Examples of conditions which may be considered good cause are: A lack of, or not reasonably available, licensed or exempt child care for a child 10 years of age or younger under specified conditions. A victim of domestic violence. Requires county to consider the participant's substance abuse problem when determining good cause for being out of compliance with program. Also requires the county welfare department, in consultation with the mental health department, to consider whether the participant's mental disability caused or substantially contributed to the noncompliance.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Cal-Learn Section 130 Pages 196-197 W&I Code Sec. 11331.5	Cal-Learn is a five-year federal demonstration project for pregnant or parenting recipients who are under 19 years old and do not have a high school diploma or its equivalent. The program is designed to assist teen parents to obtain a high school diploma or equivalent and in becoming self-sufficient adults and responsible parents. The program provides intensive case management services that conform to Adolescent Family Life Program standards, supportive services (i.e., child care and transportation), and bonuses and sanctions based on school progress. Cal-Learn participation continues until the teen graduates from high school, turns 19 years old, or is discontinued from aid.	Cal-Learn is the standard model. Counties may propose other teen parent program options under the general county demonstration project authority. Extends Cal-Learn eligibility, on a voluntary basis, to 19 year-old teens who are in Cal-Learn prior to turning 19 and who have not graduated from high school.
Duration of Up-front Job Search Section 107 Pages 156-161 W&I Code Sec. 11325.22	Requires 3 weeks of job search as the initial GAIN activity, which may be shortened or lengthened (to 8 weeks) with participant agreement.	Up-front job search for up to four consecutive weeks. Allows case manager to shorten job search if agreed to by participant that job search would not be beneficial or due to mental or emotional problems. Also allows extension of job search if it would result in employment.
Self-Initiated Programs (SIPs) Section 109 Pages 165-167 W&I Code Sec. 11325.23	 Allows an individual to continue participating in SIP if participation is full-time and the program will lead to employment. Participation in the self-initiated education or vocational training program shall be reflected in the contract. Defers participation until completion of semester or quarter, if SIP does not meet approval criteria. May continue a program for 24 months with a possible 6-month extension if participant is making satisfactory progress. Prohibits SIPs for individuals who are employable (i.e., possess baccalaureate degrees or have education or skills to obtain employment in an occupation in demand that will provide income at least equal to double the federal poverty line). 	 Only allows individuals to continue participating in SIPs if the program will lead to employment. Participation in the self-initiated education or vocational training program shall be reflected in the welfare-to-work plan. If SIP does not meet specified criteria, can continue only until the next semester or quarter break. May continue a program, if the participant is making satisfactory progress, for 18 months with a possible 6-month extension, if the SIP is likely to lead to employment. Requires concurrent participation equal to 32 hours in work or work activities. Prohibits SIPs for individuals who possess baccalaureate degrees unless in an approved teaching credential program.

Contained in AB 1542

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Assessment Section 111 Pages 168-169 W&I Code Sec. 11325.4	Requires an assessment if employment is not found during up-front job search. Purpose of assessment is to determine the participant's skills, knowledge, abilities, work history, service needs, and personal employment goal. Results in the development of a plan to achieve the participant's personal employment goal.	Requires an assessment if employment is not found during up-front job search. Purpose of assessment is to determine the participant's skills, knowledge, abilities, work history, service needs and chances of obtaining employment in the local labor market with current skills. Requires an assessment of physical or mental conditions that limit the participant's ability for employment or to participate in welfare-to- work activities. Results in the development of a welfare-to-work plan.
Who Conducts Assessments Section 111 Pages 168-169 W&I Code Sec. 11325.4	Requires assessment to be done by a person with specified education or experience. Requires county to select a third party assessor from a list approved by the Department to address disagreements on the employment plan.	Allows counties to determine who conducts assessments. Requires county to select a third party assessor to address disagreements on the welfare-to-work plan.
Allowable Work Activities Section 80 Pages 123-125 W&1 Code Sec. 11322.6	Defines allowable job search, work experience, education, and training activities to which participants may be assigned to achieve their employment goals. Does not include domestic violence, substance abuse, and mental health treatment.	Defines allowable work activities as those the county and participant determine will lead to quick entry into workforce. These can include unsubsidized employment, subsidized private or public sector employment, on-the-job training, work study, vocational training, job skills training related to employment, adult basic education, work experience, job search/readiness, community service, domestic violence services, and substance abuse and mental health treatment.
Welfare-to-Work Plans Section 106 Pages 154-156 W&I Code Sec. 11325.21	Requires participants to enter into contracts with the county that reflect employment plans, which are developed to achieve their personal employment goals. Specifies the content of contracts, including activities assigned and services to be provided, and allows the participant a 3-day and a 30-day (once only) grace period to request changes of assignment during initial training/education activity.	Requires individuals to enter into a welfare-to-work plan with the county which includes the activities that will best move the individual into employment. The bill contains provisions that specify the content of the welfare-to-work plans, including activities assigned and services to be provided and allows the participant a 3-day and a 30-day (once only) grace period to request changes of assignment.

August 14, 1997

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Treatment for Substance Abuse Section 115 Pages 172-175 W&I Code Sec. 11325.8	Does not provide substance abuse treatment with GAIN funds.	 Legislative intent to create a separate funding stream and program to assist certain recipients of aid receive necessary substance abuse treatment services. Requires county plan to include plan for the development of substance abuse treatment services. The plan is to be developed by the county welfare department and the county's alcohol and drug program. Specifies the substance abuse treatment services to be available including participation in community service jobs. Limits participation in substance abuse treatment to 6 months without concurrent participation in another work activity.
Mental Health Services Section 114 Pages 170-172 W&I Code Scc. 11325.7	Allows deferral or exemption for mental health problems or disability. However, does not assess the need for mental health services, and does not provide mental health services with GAIN funds.	 Legislative intent to create a separate funding stream and program to assist certain recipients of aid receive necessary mental health services. Requires county plan to include plan for the development of mental health employment services. The plan shall have as its goal the treatment of mental or emotional disabilities that may limit or impair the recipient's ability to obtain or retain employment. The plan is to be developed by the county welfare department and the county's mental health department. Specifies the mental health services to be available.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Nondisplacement Section 100 Pages 146-147 W&I Code Sec. 11324.6	 Prohibits GAIN Pre-employment Preparation (PREP), short-term work experience, and grant diversion (grant based on-the-job training) funded assignments that: Displace current employees. Fill positions that would be promotional opportunities for current employees. Conflict with personnel procedures or collective bargaining agreements. Fill openings created by terminations/layoffs by employers intending to fill positions with subsidized employees. Fill positions resulting from strike, lockout, or labor dispute. Also prohibits PREP and grant diversion funded assignments that fill established, unfilled positions.	 Establishes nondisplacement provisions for welfarc-to-work assignments involving on-the-job training, work study, community service, self-employment, subsidized or unsubsidized employment, adult basic education, and job skills training. Allows recipients to be placed in any vacant, unsubsidized position including those in a public agency and/or those in a job class covered by a collective bargaining agreement so long as the placement does not violate displacement provisions. Does not allow participants in work experience, community service, or any form of subsidized employment to be assigned to a job class covered by a collective bargaining agreement or fill established unfilled positions in a public agency unless the positions are unfunded in an agency's budget.
Displacement Grievance Procedures Section 99 Page 146 W&I Code Sec. 11324.5 Section 101 Pages 147-148 W&I Code Sec. 11324.7	Provides that specified GAIN assignments not displace regular employees. Establishes a procedure for notifying labor unions and nonunionized employees concerning the assignment of GAIN participants to an employer worksite, provides both informal and formal processes for resolving a complaint, establishes rules and notification requirements regarding the grievance process, and provides an appeal process.	Retains current law requiring grievance procedures for complaints that regular employees have been displaced by participants and broadens these procedures by extending them to all welfare-to-work activities. Retains labor union and nonunionized employee notification requirements, corrects references to previous employment and training activities under GAIN, and refers to new welfare-to-work activities.

Contained in AB 1542

August 14, 1997

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Conciliation Section 118 Pages 177-184 W&I Code Sec. 11327.4	 Requires separate processes for determination of good cause and conciliation with separate appointments that may be rescheduled once by the participant. Permits conciliation to extend up to 55 days: Good cause determination period - 15 working days. Conciliation - 20 calendar days with possible 10-day extension. Determination of good cause for failing to comply with conciliation plan - 10 days. Requires three separate notices for good cause determination, conciliation, and the notice of action to impose a sanction if conciliation fails. Sets detailed requirements for the content and timing of notices. 	 Provides a condensed conciliation process for noncompliant participants that must meet the following requirements: Makes the initial notice of noncompliance a notice of action (NOA) to reduce the grant payment effective in 30 days. Requires a determination of good cause for noncompliance or agreement to a plan of compliance within 20 days to avoid the sanction. Allows counties to send a NOA and impose a sanction without repeating the above process when the individual enters into a compliance plan but fails to fulfill its terms without good cause.
Sanctions for Noncompliance with Work Requirements Section 119 Pages 184-186 W&I Code Sec. 11327.5 Section 143 Page 212 W&I Code Sec. 11453.2	Imposes financial sanctions against participants for failure to comply with GAIN requirements without good cause. The sanction reduces the grant by removing the participant (and his/her spouse or the family's second parent if that individual also fails to participate). The participant may cure a sanction by reaching an agreement with the county on an amended contract or by agreeing to participate and performing the activity(ies) he/she previously refused to perform. However, sanctions for second and third (or subsequent) instances of noncompliance are imposed for at least 3 and 6 months, respectively, before participants may cure them.	Retains current law provision for adult to be removed from the family's grant. However, counties shall issue vouchers or vendor payments for at least rent and utilities payments for any assistance unit in which any parent or caretaker relative has been subject to sanction of a consecutive period of not less than three months. Vouchers or vendor payments shall continue until parent or caretaker relative is no longer subject to the sanction.

.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Community Service Section 87 Pages 132-134 W&I Code Sec. 11322.9	Allows unpaid work experience activities that may provide a needed community service, although it is not specifically cited as an allowable activity. Limits participation to unpaid work experience and job search upon completion of education and training needed for employment. Requires 100 hours/week of work experience participation after completion of employment plan and 24 months on aid, if specified criteria are met.	 Establishes community service activities for individuals who continue to meet financial eligibility criteria for aid but who cannot find unsubsidized private sector employment after the CalWORKs 18 and 24-month time limits, as certified by the county, and are fully cooperating with program requirements. Requires: Community service activities be operated in the public and private, non-profit sectors. Participants be provided with job skills that lead to private sector employment. Compliance with specified displacement provisions. Participation in community service activities by individuals who previously received aid for at least 18 months (24 months for existing recipients) and allows for participation by individuals who have received aid for less than 18 months. Participation for the minimum number of hours specified for all participants unless fewer hours are required by federal law. Participation in other work activities, including job search, as determined by the county, up to the number of hours equal to the hours required for all participants. Child care services to be provided to participants in community service activities but leaves to county option the provision of additional supportive services.
Supportive Services Section 90 Pages 137-139 W&I Code Sec. 11323.2 Section 91 Pages 139-141 W&I Code Sec. 11323.4	 Provides that supportive services, such as child care, transportation, ancillary expenses, and personal counseling (if available), will be available to all participants to permit participation in assigned program activities or to accept employment. Provides continued supportive services for individuals in on-the-job-training (OJT) who are ineligible for aid due to employment for the duration of the OJT assignment. Provides that participants will have good cause for not participating due to the unavailability of supportive services. Provides that child care will be available to eligible participants with children under 13 years of age. 	 Provides that supportive services, such as child care, transportation, ancillary expenses, and personal counseling (if available), will be available to all participants to permit participation in assigned program activities or to accept employment. Provides continued supportive services for individuals in on-the-job-training (OJT) who are ineligible for aid due to employment for the duration of the OJT assignment provided the duration will not exceed the time limits for the recipient. Provides that participants will have good cause for not participating due to the unavailability of supportive services. Provides that child care will be available to eligible participants with dependent children 10 years of age or younger. Child care for children 11 or 12 years of age will be provided to the extent funds are available.

August 14, 1997

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Grant-Based On-the-Job Training (OJT) Section 81 Pages 125-126 W&I Code Sec. 11322.61	Requires that recipients participating in grant diversion, supported work, and transitional employment programs not receive less than their cash grant amount. Does not require the county to recover from the employer any amount of the grant diverted to the employer that was not paid as wages to the recipient, except in cases of fraud, malfeasance, or theft. Requires the county to obtain agreements with employers to employ participants upon successful completion of the grant diversion, supported work, or transitional employment period.	Requires that recipients participating in grant-based OJT funded employment, who experience a break in the receipt of income due to the employer's conduct, shall receive 100 percent of their maximum aid payment. Requires the county to act to recover from the employer any amount of the grant diverted to the employer which was not paid as wages to the recipient. Also requires that grant-based OJT placement agreements between the employer and county specify that the county will take action to collect any amount of the grant diverted to the employer which was not paid as wages to the recipient. Requires that counties monitor the retention of individuals in grant- based OJT funded placements and discontinue the participation of employers that demonstrate an unwillingness to retain the employment of grant-based OJT participants.
Job Retention Services Section 90 Pages 137-139 W&I Code Sec. 11323.2	Provides county option to provide supportive services and case management for up to 90 days after participant becomes exempt due to unsubsidized employment of 30 hours per week.	Provides county option to continue to provide case management and supportive services to former participants who become employed. The county may provide these services for up to the first 12 months of employment to the extent they are not available from other sources and are needed to retain employment. See Child Care Governance and Funding Section related to Transitional Child Care.
Contracting Out Section 35 Pages 79-80 W&I Code Sec. 10619	Allows county welfare departments to provide services directly and/or through interagency agreements or contracts with private or public agencies. Payment for GAIN services must be in accordance with a competitively selected, fixed unit price performance-based contracts. Federal and state law on 8/21/96 prohibited the contracting out of discretionary functions, e.g., those related to determining eligibility or imposing sanctions.	Requires program functions to be performed exclusively by merit civil service employees of the public agency, except as permitted by state and federal law governing the program on 8/21/96. This allows only limited functions to be contracted out. Discretionary activities, e.g., those relating to determining eligibility or imposing sanctions, cannot be contracted out.
Microenterprise Pilots Section 181 Pages 260-261 W&I Code Sec. 18238	Allows counties to include, as part of their GAIN county plans, business development and self-employment training that will provide GAIN participants with the basic business skills necessary to successfully operate small businesses.	Allows CDSS to implement demonstration projects to provide specified self-employment training and technical assistance to recipients of CalWORKs benefits and persons at risk of receiving CalWORKs benefits.

.

•

Contained in AB 1542

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Child Care Governance and Funding Section 11 Pages 28-34 Ed. Code Secs. 8350-8359.1	CDSS, through the county welfare departments (CWDs), administers child care programs for families on and transitioning off welfare. The California Department of Education (CDE) administers various child care programs, mainly for low-income families and other special needs populations, although some welfare families are also served.	Establishes three stages of child care. Stage I begins with a recipient's entry into welfare; Stage II begins after six months or when the county determines that a recipient's work/work activity is stable or when a recipient is transitioning off welfare and Stage II child care is available; and Stage III begins when a funded space is available for current and former CalWORKs recipients and diversion recipients.
	Authorizes the Transitional Child Care (TCC) program, administered by CDSS, which helps families transitioning off welfare with child care costs for up to 12 or 24 months, depending upon the reason for leaving welfare.	Specifies that no family may continue to receive child care in Stage II beyond two years after the family is no longer eligible for welfare. Eliminates the TCC program.
	CDSS and the CWDs administer child care programs for families on and transitioning off welfare. These programs are equivalent to Stage 1 and Stage II child care under CalWORKs.	Specifies that CWDs will manage Stage I. Stages II and III will be administered through Alternative Payment Program (APP) agencies contracting with CDE.
	Current law does not prohibit CWDs from contracting with CDE to deliver the equivalent of any Stage III child care services.	Prohibits a CWD from delivering Stage III services, except to the extent to which it delivered those services to families receiving, or within one year of having received, welfare prior to the enactment of the new child care system. Does not preclude CWDs from operating an APP to serve families referred by child protective services.
	Welfare-related child care is an entitlement provided the parent meets specified eligibility criteria. Sufficient funding is provided to meet child care entitlements.	States intent that sufficient funding be provided through the annual budget process to provide child care to individuals participating in welfare-to-work programs and/or transitioning to work.

August 14, 1997

۰.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Child Care Earned Income Disregard Section 11 Page 33 Ed. Code Sec. 8357 Sections 139-140 Pages 208-209 W&I Code Secs. 11451.6-11451.7	Authorizes the child care earned income disregard which allows working welfare recipients to deduct child care expenses from their earnings. Families can deduct up to \$175 per month for a child 2 years of age or older and up to \$200 per month for a child under 2 years of age. Allows additional payment under the Supplemental Child Care (SCC) program if child care costs exceed the income disregard limits.	Eliminates the child care earned income disregard used in computing grants and the SCC program. Disregard and SCC payments are replaced with a payment system which provides direct payments to the child care provider. To allow counties time to develop the administrative systems necessary to issue direct payments to providers, counties may reimburse child care costs through direct payments to recipients for a six-month period from the effective date of the new child care system.
Child Care Reimbursement Rates Section 11 Page 32 Ed. Code Sec. 8357	Of the CDSS-administered child care programs, GAIN and Cal-Learn have a maximum reimbursement rate of no more than 1.5 standard deviations above the mean regional market rate (equivalent to about the 93rd percentile of the regional market rate). All other CDSS child care programs (NET, TCC, SCC and CAAP) have a rate ceiling set at the 75th percentile of the regional market rate. The CDE-administered child care programs are either capped at 1.5 standard deviations or at various maximum rates not directly related to regional market rates.	Establishes the maximum reimbursement rate for all child care at no more than 1.5 standard deviations above the mean regional market rate, except for programs with rate structures not related to regional market rates.

.

Contained in AB 1542

August 14, 1997

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Child Care TANF Recipients Transitioning to Work Section 6 Page 19 Ed. Code Sec. 8263.1	Eligibility for the CDSS-administered child care programs is based on the current or former receipt of welfare rather than on income levels. Eligibility for AFDC qualifies a family for child care provided the parent is working or engaged in other approved activities. Families leaving welfare are eligible for TCC for up to 12 or 24 months, depending upon the reason for leaving welfare. An increase in income increases a TCC family's child care fee, but does not disqualify the family from the program. The TCC exit criteria are time-based rather than income-based. The CDE-administered child care programs have various entrance and exit criteria, with some criteria set at 100 percent of the state median income.	Modifies existing Education Code entrance and exit income eligibility criteria by standardizing it at or below the 75th percentile of the state median income, adjusted for family size. Specifies that no family may continue to receive child care in Stage II beyond two years after the family is no longer eligible for welfare. Provides that children currently receiving child care will continue to receive services under the CDE-subsidized child care rules in effect before January 1, 1998.
High Quality Child Care Programs Section 11 Page 34 Ed. Code Sec. 8358	Both the CDSS and the CDE child care programs provide for parental choice and encourage quality child care.	Specifies that CDE shall increase consumer education and consumer awareness activities so that parents will seek high quality child care, which includes both licensed and license-exempt care. Fiscal provisions related to CalWORKs allocate \$8 million each to CDSS and CDE for the purpose of increasing child care capacity.

• •

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Child Support: Definition of "Cooperation" Section 149 Page 217 W&I Code Sec. 11477	Cooperation is defined as providing, within his/her capabilities, the name of the noncustodial parent and such other information as the custodial parent has access to. If the custodial parent has no information, she must attest so under penalty of perjury.	Cooperation is defined as providing, in good faith, the name of the noncustodial parent and such other information as the custodial parent has access to. If the custodial parent has no information, she must attest so under penalty of perjury.
Good Cause Exception Determination: "Cooperation"	Establishes eligibility for aid if the parent cooperates or has good cause for noncooperation. The county welfare department determines good cause.	Specifies circumstances that could result in a determination of good cause for noncooperation. The county welfare department determines good cause.
Section 151 Page 222 W&I Code Sec. 11477.04		Requires counties to make referrals to the appropriate community agencies for services if a parent inquires about or claims good cause because their child is at risk of abuse.
Child Support Failure to Cooperate Section 150 Page 221 and 222 W&I Code Sec. 11477.02	The penalty for noncooperation without good cause is AFDC ineligibility for the custodial parent.	The penalty for noncooperation is a reduction of 25% of the family's grant.
Child Support Registry Implementation Section 173 Page 243-244 W&I Code Sec. 16576	State law requires the development of a statewide child support registry.	Implements the federal requirement that all states have an automated central case registry requirement by October 1, 1998.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Assignment and Cooperation Section 149 Page 217 W&I Code Sec. 11477	Prewelfare arrearages are assigned to the county (not to exceed the amount of aid received).	Revises assignment law to provide that effective 10/1/98, if permitted by federal law, assignment does not apply to any support that accrued before a family received AFDC if arrears is not collected before the family leaves aid.
Child Support Centralized Collection and Distribution Section 148 Page 216 W&I Code Sec. 11475.4	No provision in law. Child Support is distributed locally.	Welfare reform requires a state system to monitor, enforce, collect and disburse <u>all</u> court-ordered child support payments enforced by wage withholding. The Committee will appoint a CDSS-headed advisory group to report to the Legislature on the status of the State Disbursement Unit (SDU) implementation.
General Assistance (GA) Section 178, 179 Pages 246-247 W&I Code Sec. 17016, 17021	GA is a state-mandated, 100% county funded and administered cash assistance program. Each county sets its own grant level and eligibility criteria. Families ineligible for AFDC may be eligible for county GA, Food Stamps, and community-based services. Most individuals who receive GA benefits must participate in a work program or training, unless disabled. Recipients of benefits also receive medical services provided through a county health service program or Medi-Cal.	Adult recipients who reach the 60-month limit for CalWORKs are not eligible for GA, until all of the children for whom the adult received aid are 18 years of age or older. Also ineligible for GA are adults who, due to a CalWORKs sanction or penalty, are ineligible for CalWORKs benefits. Persons fleeing to avoid prosecution for a felony or custody and confinement after conviction for a felony or who are violating probation or parole are ineligible for GA.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Fraud-Recipient Penalties Section 153 Page 226 W&I Code Sec. 11486	Provides disqualification penalties of: 2 years for the first offense, 4 years for the second offense, and permanent for the third offense for multiple applications and documents for non- existent or ineligible children; and 6 months for the first offense, 12 months for the second offense, and permanent for the third offense for all other intentional program violations.	 Provides a "one strike" provision and other levels of disqualification depending on the severity of the offense: (a) A permanent "one strike" disqualification provision for: duplicate aid fraud in two or more states or counties, or; using false documents for children, or; fraud exceeding \$10,000; a felony fraud conviction of \$5,000 or more. (b) A felony fraud conviction results in a two-year disqualification if the theft amount is less than \$2,000, and, a five year disqualification for theft amount between \$2,000 to \$5,000. (c) Duplicate aid in the same county for the same circumstances but not meeting other criteria in (a) and (b) results in a two-year disqualification for the first offense, four years for the second offense, and permanent disqualification for a third offense. (d) All other intentional program violations not meeting criteria in (a),(b), or (c) result in six months for the first offense, twelve months for the second offense, and permanent disqualification for the third offense, including offenses in (a)(b) and (c). These are misdemeanors or Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH) findings that do not involve false documents or multiple aid. Also, all prior disqualifications will be considered when determining whether this is a first, second, or third offense.

Subject Market	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Collection of Overpayments Section 37 Page 80 W&I Code Sec. 11004	Provides for the repayment of overpayment by reducing the grant by 5 or 10 percent of grant and earnings.	Maintains the collection percentages in current law but changes the basis for payments from a percent of grant and earnings to a percent of the maximum aid payment. Also specifies that, in cases involving fraud, every effort shall be made to collect the overpayment regardless of the amount.
Research, Monitoring, and Evaluation: Evaluation of CalWORKs Program Section 158 Page 233 W&I Code Sec. 11520-11521.3	Independent evaluations are mandated by federal law for statewide welfare reform provisions operating under federal waivers. In addition, state law enables specific demonstration projects and mandates evaluation of those projects. Evaluations are also required for those provisions operated under the Director's waiver authority.	Requires the Department to ensure that a comprehensive independent statewide evaluation of the CalWORKs program is undertaken and that information is available to the Legislature in a timely fashion. Establishes the authority for evaluation of county demonstration projects. Directs by 7/1/98 the revision of data collection procedures to meet the requirements of federal welfare reform law, and that the Department use existing welfare data archives to the extent possible for the evaluation of the program. Also requires continued evaluation of Cal-Learn.
Research, Monitoring, and Evaluation: Interagency Data Development and Use Section 159 Page 235 W&I Code Sec. 11525	No provision.	Specifies that the Department shall have access to data maintained by state and local agencies. Also requires the Department to establish a project to link longitudinal administrative data.
Research, Monitoring and Evaluation: Role of the University Section 160 Page 236 W&I Code Sec. 11526	No provision.	Establishes the role of the University in support of research and evaluation of the program.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
County Demonstration and Waivers Section 181 Page 255-258 W&I Code Sec. 18230-18232	The department may waive certain statutory requirements, regulations, and standards by county or on a statewide basis through a formal order of the director. Demonstration projects cannot exceed three years. Requires pursuit of federal waivers where necessary.	Retains the Director's waiver authority to test different types of alternative service delivery or serve different types of populations. May test alternatives designed to do any of, but not limited to the following: 1) more effectively service highly distressed geographic areas; 2) More effectively serve hard-to-employ target populations; 3) better meet local labor force demands; 4) address the needs of the CalWORKs population in areas of chronic high unemployment; 5) improve administration of program services. The bill also imposes new procedural requirements on counties wishing to propose a demonstration project.
Performance Outcomes and County Accountability Section 33 Pages 73-79 W&I Code Sec. 10540-10553.2	No provision.	Identifies goals to be attained by monitoring performance outcomes at the state and local levels; requires the Department, in consultation with specified stakeholders, to establish performance measures, identify data collection methods, and develop data collection standards; requires counties to participate in monitoring outcomes by collecting and reporting data; establishes a deadline for development of baseline measurements; directs the Department to report on counties experiencing significantly worsened outcome and develop corrective action plans; mandates that penalties be shared equally by the State and counties; provides fiscal incentives for counties by allocating 100 percent of grant savings to counties.

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
County Plan and "Ramp Up" Section 32 Pages 70-73 W&I Code Sec. 10530-10531	No provision.	 Defines content of county CalWORKs plan and planning process requirements CDSS has 30 days to issue a planning allocation letter. Counties have up to four months to submit a plan from issuance of planning allocation. CDSS has 30 days to certify or deny county plan. Counties must resubmit any plan which is denied within 30 days. Counties must begin to enroll applicants in welfare-to-work within six months of the CDSS planning allocation letter or two months after the certification of their plan and; Counties must have all recipients in the program no later than January 1, 1999.
Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) Act Section 31 Pages 65-70 W&I Code Sec. 10065-10071	Requires the director of CDSS to the extent permitted by federal law "establish methods for food stamp issuance in all counties which guarantee to low-income householdsnutritional benefitsand achieve the most efficient system for program administration"	Provides for the creation of an Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) Committee (to expire January 1, 2003) to advise CDSS on development and implementation of a statewide EBT system. The use of EBT for food stamps will be mandated and the counties will have the option to include cash assistance benefits. Not later than July 1, 1998, the state must certify one or more EBT processors as eligible to contract with counties.
Federal Sanctions for Failure to Meet Outcomes Section 33 Pages 76-77 W&I Code Sec.10544	A portion of federal sanctions incurred by the state for excess AFDC payment error rate may be passed on to those counties which caused the sanction liability.	Federal sanctions will now be imposed based on failure to meet outcomes as defined by federal law. The state would pass on 50 percent of the federal sanction to those counties responsible for the sanction. A county may be provided relief from a penalty due to extraordinary circumstances beyond the control of the county. Penalty provisions may be revised based upon a Steering Committee recommendation to the Legislature.

.

Subject Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Welfare Reform Steering Committee Section 33 Pages 76 W&I Code Sec. 10544.317	No provision.	Requires the Health and Welfare Agency, in consultation with Department of Finance, CDSS, representatives of the legislature, and two public members to form a steering committee to advise the Department on implementation issues and to review alternative ways to budget and allocate for the administration of programs. The committee must report its findings on budget alternatives to the Legislature so that recommended changes can be implemented in the Budget Act of 1998 and related statutes.
Fiscal Incentives Section 33 Page 77-78 W&I Code Sec. 10544.1	No provision.	 Each county shall receive 75 percent of the State General Fund share of grant savings resulting from: (1) exits due to employment which have lasted at least 6 months; (2) increased earnings due to employment; and (3) diversion from the program for six months in addition to the number of months equivalent to the diversion payment. CDSS in consultation with the Welfare Reform Steering Committee shall determine the method for valuing the outcomes to determine the county share of savings. The remaining 25 percent of savings would be distributed to counties which have not realized savings due to these outcomes, but have other worthy performance efforts. Eligibility for this incentive is based on standards developed by the Department in consultation with the counties. Incentive funds allocated to counties which are TANF funds shall be used only for TANF eligible purposes. Funds which are State General Funds must be used in direct support of the CalWORKs program and countable towards the Federal maintenance of effort (MOE) level unless the Department of Finance determines that all or part of the funds are not needed in that fiscal year to meet the required Federal MOE.

Subject 😳 👘	Prior Law	CalWORKs
Single Allocation Section 164 Pages 239 W&I Code Sec. 15204.2	Separate allocations exist for the administration of the AFDC program and the GAIN program.	Annual state and federal amount budgeted for support of counties' administrative activities to provide benefit payments and to provide work activities and supportive services would be appropriated and distributed in a single allocation. Funds remaining at the end of 1997/98 or 1998/99 will be made available to a county until July 1, 2000, and may be expended for the same purposes as originally allocated.
Allocation to Counties Section 165 Pages 239-240 W&I Code Sec. 15204.4	Allocations are determined by the cost control plan. The plan is submitted by the counties in March of every year in the form of the Proposed County Administrative Budget (PCAB). The PCAB contains expenditure information for the current year and projections for the budget year. This information is utilized in the development of the annual budget and individual county allocations for AFDC and Non-Assistance Food Stamps (NAFS) administrative costs.	 Funds for benefits administration shall be allocated based on projected county costs and caseloads. Funds for welfare-to-work administration shall be allocated based on historical allocations. Additional funds above the 1996-97 GAIN allocation level shall be distributed among the counties in the following manner: (1) Two-thirds allocated to all counties based on each county's share of adults aided and (2) one-third allocated to those counties that in the prior year received an allocation per average aided adult at a level less than the statewide average, and distributed among them so that they each receive the same allocation per average aided adult. Establishes 1997/98 as the historical base for future allocations. Increases or decreases in funds appropriated shall be allocated to promote equitable distribution among counties. No change to first year methodology.
County Maintenance of Effort (MOE) Requirement and State/County Sharing Ratios Section 166 Pages 240 W&I Code Sec. 18220	For GAIN County MOE set at 1992/93 actual nonfederal share of costs. For county administration of AFDC and Food Stamps program, the county share is set at 30% of nonfederal share of costs.	County MOE in welfare-to-work services, county administration, including food stamps, is set at 1996/97 actual spending level. County reductions in level of administrative effort below the MOE will proportionally reduce their allocation. The Department shall establish the state and county sharing of the federal MOE required under federal law.

Contained in AB 1542

August 14, 1997

Subject	Prior Law	CalWORKs
TANF Funding for Juvenile Probation Services Section 180 Pages 247-255 W&I Code Sec. 10553.2	No provision. However, under previous federal law and state policy decisions California's county probation departments claimed emergency assistance probation costs under Title IV-A through December 31, 1995.	Enacts the Comprehensive Youth Services Act which provides \$140.9 million in TANF funding to support a continuum of family centered services for at-risk youth and youthful offenders.
Tribal CalWORKs Section 34 Page 79 W&I Code Sec. 10553.2	There is no existing law that mandates collecting tribe-specific data. Civil rights statute mandates data be collected on ethnicity of recipients, of which American Indians is a category.	The Department shall make an annual allocation of funds to all eligible federally recognized American Indian tribes located in the State that administer a program pursuant to the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996. The Department shall collect and maintain specific available data for each tribe in this state for federal fiscal year 1994 for the purpose of the implementation and administration of the federal program. The Department shall submit requests on behalf of tribes, for all applicable federal waivers and exemptions for all eligible federally recognized American Indian tribes for the administration of the CalWORKs program, whether or not they administer an approved TANF plan. Each county, in the administration of the CalWORKs program, shall consult with all eligible recognized tribes within the county, to: (1) provide American Indian recipients with equitable access to assistance under the state program or an approved Tribal TANF program if implemented in the county, (2) determine county expenditures for tribal recipients, and (3) consider transfers of funding and administration responsibilities to those entities.

/var/export/home/wpi/common/CALWORKS/curlaw/otherpro.1

ATTACHMENT B

1

August 15, 1997

Demonstration Projects included in AB 1542 CalWORKs

AB 1542 retains the Director of the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) authority to approve county demonstration projects. These three-year demonstration projects may test alternatives designed to more effectively serve highly distressed geographic areas and hard-to-employ target populations, better meet local labor forcer demands, address the needs of the CalWORKs population in areas of chronic high unemployment, and/or improve administration of program services to clients.

Child Support Assurance (CSA) Demonstration Projects	Authorizes CDSS to approve up to three demonstration projects to test models of child support assurance. One project shall conform to the requirements for a child support assurance program specified in AB 1542; the other two shall test different models or involve two counties with different population characteristics. The maximum number of participants in a county shall be no more than the greater of five percent of the county's caseload or 8,000 persons.
Jobs Plus Demo	Establishes waiver authority for CDSS to modify work-related financial incentives for residents of Jobs-Plus sites in Los Angeles County.
California Savings and Asset Project	Establishes an Individual Development Account project in which welfare recipients and other low-income persons build accounts with earnings matched by public (no state funds) or private matching funds to be used exclusively for business capitalization, education, job training, or home ownership. The project is operative only if federal funds other than TANF are received for purposes of the project. The Governor will designate the administering agency.
Microenterprise Pilots	Authorizes the CDSS to implement county demonstration projects to provide self-employment training and technical assistance to recipients. Demonstration projects are to last three years with participation limited to six counties, one in Los Angeles County and one in a northern California county. However, if non-state matching funds become available, the number shall be expanded to 12 counties.
School Attendance	Authorizes the Director to approve school attendance projects in San Diego and Merced Counties. The projects are to emphasize a social service approach and integrate services. The projects must be approved by the governing board of each school and/or district. The county may reduce a family's grant by the amount attributable to the truant child. The grant shall be restored once the student has attended school full-time for one month.
Redeterminations & Elimination of Current Monthly Budgeting Requirement	Requires CDSS to conduct a pilot in up to six counties pursuant to conference bill provisions for an alternative recipient reporting system. County selection should include small, medium and large counties but shall not include a county with a population over six million. Allows statewide expansion after one year without need for law change

/var/export/home/wpi/mdahlin/ProposedDemos2

ATTACHMENT B

DEMONSTRATION PROJECTS INCLUDED IN AB 1542 (CalWORKs

AB 1542 retains the Director of the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) authority to approve county demonstration projects. These three-year demonstration projects may test alternatives designed to more effectively serve highly distressed geographic areas and hard-to-employ target populations, better meet local labor force demands, address the needs of the CalWORKs population in areas of chronic high unemployment, and/or improve administration of program services to clients.

CHILD SUPPORT ASSURANCE (CSA) DEMONSTRATION PROJECTS	Authorizes CDSS to approve up to three demonstration projects to test models of child support assurance. One project shall conform to the requirements for a child support assurance program specified in AB 1542; the other two shall test different models or involve two counties with different population characteristics. The maximum number of participants in a county shall be no more than the greater of five percent of the county's caseload or 8,000 persons.
JOBS PLUS DEMO	Establishes waiver authority for CDSS to modify work-related financial incentives for residents of Jobs-Plus sites in Los Angeles County.
California Savings and Asset Project	Establishes an Individual Development Account project in which welfare recipients and other low-income persons build accounts with earnings matched by public (no state funds) or private matching funds to be used exclusively for business capitalization, education, job training, or home ownership. The project is operative only if federal funds other than TANF are received for purposes of the project. The Governor will designate the administering agency.
MICROENTERPRISE PILOTS	Authorizes the CDSS to implement county demonstration projects to provide self-employment training and technical assistance to recipients. Demonstration projects are to last three years with participation limited to six counties, including one in Los Angeles County and one in a northern California county. However, if non-state matching funds become available, the number shall be expanded to 12 counties.
SCHOOL ATTENDANCE	Authorizes the Director to approve school attendance projects in San Diego and Merced Counties. The projects are to emphasize a social service approach and integrate services. The projects must be approved by the governing board of each school and/or district. The county may reduce a family's grant by the amount attributable to the truant child. The grant shall be restored once the student has attended school full-time for one month.
REDETERMINATION & ELIMINATION OF CURRENT MONTHLY BUDGETING REQUIREMENT	Requires CDSS to conduct a pilot in up to six counties pursuant to conference bill provisions for an alternative recipient reporting system. County selection should include small, medium and large counties but shall not include a county with a population over six million. Allows statewide expansion after one year without need for law change.

/home/wpi/dgillesp/CALWORKS/Proposd.Demos2

August 15, 1997