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Child care providers who are not required to 

be licensed in California (baby-sitters, 

nannies, etc.) and who are providing child 

care to parents receiving a governmental 

child care subsidy payment are required by 

law to register with TrustLine. 

Grandparents, aunts and uncles of the 

child in care are not required to register with 

TrustLine. 

Child care payments will be paid when a 

license-exempt California Work Opportunity 

and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) 

Stage One child care provider becomes 

TrustLine registered. 

 

County contact information or stamp: 

Questions? 

TRUSTLINE 

LICENSE-EXEMPT PROVIDER PAMPHLET 

Are you a child care provider who 

needs to register with TrustLine? 

If so, read this Pamphlet! 

TrustLine Registration Requirements 

What is my status on TrustLine? 

All TrustLine applicants will receive a letter 

from the California Department of Social 

Services confirming the results of 

their TrustLine background check. 

If it has been 30 days or more since you 

applied to TrustLine and you have not 

received a letter from CDSS, or if you have 

questions, please call: 

TrustLine 

1-800-822-8490 

www.TrustLine.org 

http://www.trustline.org/
http://www.trustline.org/


 
 
 
 
 
To get paid for providing subsidized child care, you 

must become TrustLine registered. To become 

TrustLine registered, you must go through several 

steps: 

• Have your fingerprints taken. 

• Submit your completed TrustLine 

application form within seven days 

of your orientation. 

• Remember to answer all questions honestly. 

• Give your most current information. 

• Give complete information about any criminal his- 

tory you may have. 

The Parent’s/Guardian’s Responsibility 

Parents and guardians must inform any license- 

exempt child care provider that they must be 

TrustLine registered to receive subsidy payments from 

the County Welfare Department (CWD) or the Alterna- 

tive Payment Program (APP). If a provider has taken 

care of children and has not received subsidy pay- 

ments from the CWD or APP, the provider may try to 

get payment directly from the parent/guardian. 

Your Responsibility as a Provider 

 
 

 

  
 
 

A TrustLine application can be denied or closed 

for several reasons. Sometimes, when CDSS 

denies your application, it is because of 

something in your criminal history. You will be 

given a chance to explain and ask for an 

“exemption.” There are some crimes that are not 

“exemptible.” If you have a conviction for one of 

these crimes, you will not be able to be TrustLine 

registered. 

 
The list of crimes can be found online at: 

http://www.ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/non_exempt.pdf 

Also, if you fail to reveal any conviction on your 

TrustLine application, your application may be 

denied or registration may be delayed. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

You are allowed to care for children while your 

TrustLine application is being processed. 

However, understand you will not get paid for the 

care you provide until after you have successfully 

completed TrustLine registration. If your TrusLine 

registration takes more than 120 days, you will be 

retroactively paid for only 120 days. If your 

TrustLine application is denied, you will not be 

paid for any care you provided while going 

through the registration process. 

 

TrustLine is a registry of in-home child care 

providers, who have been fingerprinted and 

receive clearance of their background check. 

 

 The California Department of Justice: 

Checks the Automated Criminal History 

System for arrests and convictions in 

California and checks the California Child 

Abuse Central Index for substantiated child 

abuse reports. 

 The United States Federal Bureau of 

Investigations: Checks arrests and 

convictions across all 50 states. 

 
TrustLine is one of the nation’s most extensive 

criminal background check registries and is 

used to ensure child care providers who are 

being paid for child care services have no 

previous criminal or child abuse history that 

might place children in subsidized child care in 

danger. 

http://www.ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/non_exempt.pdf
http://www.ccld.ca.gov/res/pdf/non_exempt.pdf



