
State of California – Health and Human Services Agency	 California Department of Social Services

COUNTY OF NOTICE OF ACTION
CHILD CARE SERVICES 
DISCONTINUANCE

Notice Date	 : _________________________
Case Name	 : _________________________
Case Number	 : _________________________
Worker Name	 : _________________________
Worker Number	 : _________________________
Telephone Number	: _________________________
Address	 :  _________________________
			    _________________________
	  	Questions? Ask your Worker.
State Hearing: If you think this action is wrong, 
you can ask for a hearing. Your benefits may not 
be changed if you ask for a hearing before this 
action takes place. If you and the county disagree 
or if you have not heard back from your worker, 
do not wait to ask for a hearing. You must ask for 
the hearing before a certain number of days. See 
the back of this notice for more information and 
to find out how to ask for a hearing.

(Addressee)
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Your child care reimbursement for  
_________________________________________________________

will stop on ______________________.

HERE’S WHY:
�� Your 12-month child care authorization will 
end on _________________.  Please contact your 
 
county worker to renew your authorization.

�� You have met your county’s definition of 
stable and will be transferred to Stage Two 
Child Care as of __________________.

�� Your 12-month child care authorization is 
expiring in 6 months.

�� You have failed to submit documents required 
to renew child care. If you are still in need of 
child care services, please contact your 
worker.

�� You do not have to go to the approved county 
Welfare-to-Work activity/program right now 
and have chosen not to participate as a 
volunteer.

�� You did not meet the CalWORKs program 
requirements. (See notes).

�� You went off CalWORKs cash aid. You may 
be eligible for Stage Two Child Care. Please 
call the Child Care Resource and Referral 
agency listed on page two.

Name of Child

�� You asked that your child care  
reimbursements stop.

�� Your child is 13 years old or older, and we do 
not have information that shows your child is 
disabled or under court supervision to keep 
getting child care.

�� Your child(ren) no longer need(s) child care 
because ________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________.
�� Your child care provider is a member of your 
CalWORKs/ Cal-Learn assistance unit.

�� Your child care provider	 _________________________,  
 
had their application for TrustLine denied, or 
closed, or revoked.

�� Your income is $______________ which is more 
than the 85% percentile of the State median 
income limit. State law limits eligibility to this 
income amount.

�� You are no longer eligible for post aid child 
care services because ________________________ 

____________________________________________________.
�� Other: _____________________________________________ 

Rules: These rules apply. You may review them at 
your welfare office: CDSS All County Letter 19-99; 
CalWORKs MPP Sections 47-260, 47-430.2,  
47-620.32; Education Code Sections 8350-8353, 
8357. Welfare & Institutions Code Sections 11323.4, 
11323.6, and 11323.8, or visit www.cdss.ca.gov or 
www.leginfo.ca.gov.

Date

Date

Date Name of Provider

https://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2019/19-99.pdf
http://www.cdss.ca.gov
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov
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You can also call your worker/case manager if you think this notice is wrong.

Sanctioned Cases:
If you are being sanctioned and intend to cure your sanction, you may be eligible for Stage One Child 
Care.  

Additional Child Care Services:
You may be eligible for Stage Two Child Care or another state or federally funded child care and 
development program if:

•	 You are being sanctioned and you do not intend to cure your sanction, and/or

•	 Your income is more than the 85% percentile of the State Median Income limit.

You may also apply on your own to the Resource and Referral agency listed below.

Notes

To see if you may qualify for other child care programs, you can contact the local Child Care 
Resource and Referral agency listed below:
Name Telephone

Address



If you ask for a hearing before an action on 
Cash Aid, Medi-Cal, CalFresh, or Child Care 
takes place:
•	 Your Cash Aid or Medi-Cal will stay the same 

while you wait for a hearing.
•	 Your Child Care Services may stay the same 

while you wait for a hearing.
•	 Your CalFresh benefits will stay the 

same until the hearing or the end of your 
certification period, whichever is earlier.

If the hearing decision says we are right, you 
will owe us for any extra Cash Aid, CalFresh 
or Child Care Services you got.  To let us 
lower or stop your benefits before the hearing, 
check below:
Yes, lower or stop: 	 Cash Aid	 CalFresh

Child Care

While You Wait for a Hearing Decision for:
Welfare to Work:
You do not have to take part in the activities.
You may receive child care payments for 
employment and for activities approved by the 
county before this notice.
If we told you your other supportive services 
payments will stop, you will not get any more 
payments, even if you go to your activity.
If we told you we will pay your other supportive 
services, they will be paid in the amount and in 
the way we told you in this notice.
•	 To get those supportive services, you must 

go to the activity the county told you to 
attend.

YOUR HEARING RIGHTS
You have the right to ask for a hearing if 
you disagree with any county action.  You 
have only 90 days to ask for a hearing. 
The 90 days started the day after the 
county gave or mailed you this notice.  If 
you have good cause as to why you were 
not able to file for a hearing within the 90 
days, you may still file for a hearing.  If 
you provide good cause, a hearing may 
still be scheduled.

•	 If the amount of supportive services the 
county pays while you wait for a hearing 
decision is not enough to allow you to 
participate, you can stop going to the activity.

Cal-Learn:
•	 You cannot participate in the Cal-Learn 

Program if we told you we cannot serve you.
•	 We will only pay for Cal-Learn supportive 

services for an approved activity.

OTHER INFORMATION
Medi-Cal Managed Care Plan Members:  
The action on this notice may stop you from 
getting services from your managed care health 
plan.  You may wish to contact your health plan 
membership services if you have questions.
Child and/or Medical Support:  The local child 
support agency will help collect support at no 
cost even if you are not on cash aid.  If they now 
collect support for you, they will keep doing so 
unless you tell them in writing to stop.  They will 
send you current support money collected but 
will keep past due money collected that is owed 
to the county.
Family Planning:  Your welfare office will give 
you information when you ask for it.
Hearing File:  If you ask for a hearing, the State 
Hearing Division will set up a file.  You have the 
right to see this file before your hearing and to 
get a copy of the county’s written position on 
your case at least two days before the hearing.   
The state may give your hearing file to the 
Welfare Department and the U.S. Departments 
of Health and Human Services and Agriculture.  
(W&I Code Sections 10850 and 10950.)
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TO ASK FOR A HEARING:
•	 Fill out this page.
•	 Make a copy of the front and back of this page for your records. If you ask, your worker will get 

you a copy of this page.
•	 Send or take this page to:

	 OR
•	 Call toll free: 1-800-952-5253 or for hearing or speech impaired who use TDD, 1-800-952-8349.
To Get Help: You can ask about your hearing rights or for a legal aid referral at the toll-free 
state phone numbers listed above. You may get free legal help at your local legal aid or welfare 
rights office.

If you do not want to go to the hearing alone, you can bring a friend or someone with you.
HEARING REQUEST
I want a hearing due to an action by the Welfare Department of _____________________________________ County 
about my:	   Cash Aid	   CalFresh	   Medi-Cal	    Other (list)  ______________________________________

Here’s Why: _________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

   If you need more space, check here and add a page.
	 I need the state to provide me with an interpreter at no cost to me. (A relative or friend cannot 

interpret for you at the hearing.)
My language or dialect is: __________________________________________

Name of Person Whose Benefits Were Denied,Changed or Stopped Date of Birth Phone Number 

Street Address City State Zip Code

Signature Date

Name of Person Completing This Form Phone Number

	 I want the person named below to represent me at this hearing.  I give my permission for 
this person to see my records or go to the hearing for me.  (This person can be a friend or 
relative but cannot interpret for you.)

Name Phone Number

Street Address City State Zip Code
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