
STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT—SERIOUS BODILY INJURY/PHYSICAL ABUSE

FACILITY NAME    

FACILITY ADDRESS CITY

LICENSEE(S) FACILITY #:

STATE ZIP CODE

DATE

A Licensing Report  (LIC 809 or LIC 9099) was issued on __________________ giving notice that your facility has been found in 

violation of one or more requirements for which an immediate civil penalty is warranted in accordance with one of the following
California Health and Safety Code Sections: 1548(e); 1568.0822(e); 1569.49(e); 1596.99(e); or 1597.58(e).

You are hereby notified that a civil penalty of $ _______________ is assessed for a violation that resulted in serious bodily
injury/serious injury to a client or that constitutes physical abuse of a client.

NAME OF LICENSING PROGRAM ANALYST SIGNATURE OF LICENSING PROGRAM ANALYST

NAME OF FACILITY REPRESENTATIVE/TITLE SIGNATURE OF FACILITY REPRESENTATIVE
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SIGNATURE OF PROGRAM ADMINISTRATOR DATE

DATE

DATE

NAME OF PROGRAM ADMINISTRATOR

YOU WILL RECEIVE AN INVOICE IN THE MAIL.

DO NOT SEND MONEY UNTIL YOU RECEIVE YOUR INVOICE

DATE

Penalty Amount Capacity Facility Type

�  $10,000 All sizes Adult Residential Facilities, Enhanced Behavioral Supports Homes-ARF, Social
Rehabilitation Facilities, Community Crisis Homes

�  $2,500 ≤50
Adult Day Program

�  $5,000 More than 50

�  $10,000 All sizes Residential Care Facility for the Chronically Ill

�  $2,500 ≤40 Adoption Agencies, Community Treatment Facilities, Group Homes, Enhanced Behavioral
Supports Homes-Group Homes, Therapeutic Day Services Facilities, Foster Family
Agencies, Transitional Housing Placement Providers, Short-Term Residential Treatment
Center, Transitional Shelter Care Facilities

�  $5,000 41-100

�  $10,000 More than 100

�  $1,000 All sizes Runaway and Homeless Youth Shelter

�  $10,000 All sizes Residential Care Facility for the Elderly

�  $2,500 ≤30

Child Care Center�  $5,000 31-100

�  $10,000 More than 100

�  $1,000 All sizes Small Family Child Care Home

�  $2,000 All sizes Large Family Child Care Home



STATE OF CALIFORNIA -  HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT FORM

The California Department of Social Services has determined that a violation of licensing statute or regulations has resulted in serious bodily
injury/serious injury to a client or constitutes physical abuse of a client.  A licensing report (LIC 809 or LIC 9099) cited the initial statute or
regulation violated, and described the nature of the deficiency fully stating the manner in which the licensee failed to comply with the specified
statute or regulation. It has been determined that this initial violation has resulted in serious bodily injury/serious injury to a client or constitutes
physical abuse of a client, resulting in an additional civil penalty, pursuant California Health and Safety Code Section 1548(e), 1568.0822(e),
1569.49(e), 1596.99(e), or 1597.58(e). This decision has been approved by a Program Administrator of the Community Care Licensing Division,
as indicated on the front of this form.

You will receive an invoice in the mail. Payment is due when billed. Payment must be made by a personal, business or cashier’s check or money
order made payable to the “California Department of Social Services”. Please write the facility number and invoice number on your check and
include a copy of your invoice with the payment. You will find the invoice number on your invoice. 
DO NOT SEND CASH.

NOTE: Civil Penalties may be imposed in addition to the penalties of suspension or revocation as provided in the California Health and Safety
Code Sections 1548, 1568.0822, 1569.49, 1596.99, and 1597.58. In addition to the imposition of civil penalties, the California Health and Safety
Code Sections 1550, 1569.50 and 1596.885 also authorizes the suspension or revocation of a license based on licensing violations.

APPEAL RIGHTS

The licensee has a right without prejudice to discuss any disagreement concerning the proper application of licensing laws and regulations with
the licensing agency. The licensee may request a formal review of any civil penalty.  The licensee and licensing agency shall adhere to the
timeline and guidelines listed below:

� Within 15 business days of receipt of this form, the licensee may request a formal review of the civil penalty by the Deputy Director of the
Community Care Licensing Division.  The request must be in writing, and must include all available supporting documentation.

� Within 30 business days of the request for review, the licensee may submit any additional supporting documentation that was unavailable at
the time of the initial request. 

� Within 30 business days of receiving the initial request from the licensee, the licensing agency may request additional information from the
licensee deemed necessary to make its determination. The licensee shall provide this additional information within 30 business days of
receiving the request from the licensing agency. 

� Within 60 business days of the date when all necessary information has been provided to the department by the licensee, the licensee shall
be notified in writing of the licensing agency’s decision.

The licensing agency has a duty to review the facts presented without prejudice. Upon review of the facts and in accordance with applicable
statutes and regulations, the licensing agency may amend any portion of the action taken, or may dismiss the violation. 

Upon exhausting this review, the licensee may further appeal the licensing agency’s decision to an Administrative Law Judge. Appeals to an
Administrative Law Judge follow a separate procedure, conducted in accordance with Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of
Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.
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EXPLANATION TO LICENSEE
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