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Introduction 
California’s In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) program makes it 
possible for qualified aged, blind, and/or disabled individuals to remain 
safely in their own homes, where they can enjoy personal freedom and 
independence, and continue being a part of their community.  

This handbook will help IHSS 
recipients and providers better 
understand the new IHSS 
program changes beginning 
February 1, 2016, as required 
under the Fair Labor Standards 
Act (FLSA) and California state 
law, and how these changes may 
impact them.

These new changes require paid 
overtime and travel time 
compensation, under certain 
conditions and within specific 
limits, and violations, with 
consequences, when these laws 
are not followed.   

This handbook includes information on key terms, revised and new forms, 
the county approval process, and adjusting hours.  This handbook will 
assist recipients and providers in understanding and correctly applying 
the new changes in order to prevent delays in payment and avoid 
violations.
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Key Terms 
The following are new and important key terms IHSS recipients and 
providers must know and understand:  

1. Monthly Authorized Hours:  The total number of IHSS service
hours a recipient is authorized per month.

2. The IHSS Workweek:  Begins at 12:00 a.m. on Sunday, and ends
at 11:59 p.m. the following Saturday.

3. Maximum Weekly Hours:  The number of service hours that a
recipient is authorized per workweek.  This number is calculated by
dividing the recipient’s monthly authorized hours by 4.

This calculation is a guideline to inform recipients of the maximum
number of hours their providers can work in a workweek which will
assist recipients in effectively budgeting their service hours to
ensure all of their monthly hours are received.

4. Overtime:  Providers are eligible to be paid at the overtime rate for
all hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek within certain
limitations.  The overtime pay rate is calculated at one and a half
times the regular pay rate.

5. Travel Time:  The time it takes for a provider to travel directly from
providing services at one recipient’s home to providing services at
another recipient’s home on the same workday.  A provider may be
paid up to a total of 7 hours of travel time per workweek.  Travel
time paid to providers will not be deducted from recipients’ monthly
authorized hours.

6. Violations: Consequences of the failure to comply with overtime
and travel time limitations. A violation could cause a provider to be
suspended from the program or terminated as an IHSS provider.
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Revised and New Forms 

The following are important revised and new forms IHSS recipients and 
providers must review, understand, sign and submit to their local county 
IHSS office: 

Recipients 

 The revised IHSS Program Recipient Designation of Provider 
(SOC 426A) includes information about the new workweek, 
overtime and travel time requirements. 

Additional form for recipients with more than one provider 

 The IHSS Program Recipient and Provider Workweek 
Agreement (SOC 2256) allows recipients and providers to agree on 
a workweek schedule.  This agreement requires the recipients’ and 
their providers’ signatures. 

Must be updated and resubmitted when there is a permanent change to any of 
the information contained on this form.  

Providers 

 The revised IHSS Program Provider Enrollment Agreement 
(SOC 846) explains the new workweek limitations. 

Additional form for providers that work for more than one recipient 

 The IHSS Program Provider Workweek and Travel Time 
Agreement (SOC 2255) explains the workweek, 7 hour travel time 
limits, and includes sections for providers to document workweek 
schedules and record the travel time that providers will engage in, if 
applicable.   

Must be updated and resubmitted when there is a change in providers and/or 
ci rcumstances that cause a permanent change in a provider’s work schedule. 

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC426A.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC426A.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2256.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2256.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC846.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC846.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2255.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2255.pdf


6 

New Notices 
The following important notifications will be mailed to IHSS recipients and 
providers when there is a change in the recipient’s monthly authorized 
hours which coincides with the release of the Notice of Action (NOA) 
informing the recipient of the change in hours and/or whenever a new 
service is added or eliminated: 

1. Notice to Recipients:  The IHSS Program Recipient Notice of
Maximum Weekly Hours (SOC 2271A) explains the recipient’s
maximum weekly hours. 

2. Notice to Providers:  The IHSS Program Provider Notification of
Recipient Hours and Services and Maximum Weekly Hours
(SOC 2271) explains the recipient’s monthly authorized hours,
maximum weekly hours and the services the provider is allowed to
perform for the recipient.

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2271A.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2271A.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2271.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2271.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2271.pdf
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Adjusting Maximum Weekly Hours 
Sometimes it may be necessary for recipients to authorize the provider to 
work more than the maximum weekly hours as identified on the SOC 
2271A; however, it is important for recipients and providers to know w
it is necessary to get county approval in order to prevent a violation. 

Recipients must get county approval to adjust their providers’ maximu
weekly hours when there is a need for providers to work: 

More than 40 hours in a workweek if the recipient’s maximu
weekly hours are 40 hours or less; 

OR 

More overtime hours in the month than they would normally 
work in a calendar month. 

Recipients may authorize the adjustment in maximum weekly hours 
without requesting county approval when all three of the following 
conditions are met: 

hen 

m 

m 

1. There is only one provider;
2. The provider does not work for any other recipients;
3. The provider’s weekly work schedule is adjusted in the
remaining workweeks of that month to make sure they do not 
work more than the monthly authorized hours or the approved 
overtime hours. 

In a situation where a recipient has more than one provider and one of the 
providers becomes ill or is otherwise unable to work in a given week, the 
recipient can assign some or all of that provider’s weekly hours to his/her 
other provider(s), even if this would cause the provider(s) to work 
overtime. This recipient may do so without requesting approval from the 
county as long as the additional hours worked by the provider do not 
cause the provider to work more than the recipient’s maximum weekly 
hours or work more than 66 hours in the workweek if the provider works 
for more than one recipient. 
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Overtime Approvals & Exception Process

When a recipient needs the provider to work more than the recipient’s 
maximum weekly hours and the work performed will not meet one of the 
criteria in the Adjusting Maximum Weekly Hours section, the recipient will 
be required to contact the county to obtain a one-time exception to allow 
the provider to work the additional overtime hours. 

An exception is a request made by telephone or written correspondence 
by a recipient to the IHSS county office for authorization for the recipient 
to adjust the provider’s maximum weekly hours so that the provider may 
work additional hours during a particular workweek, which may cause the 
provider to work and be compensated for additional overtime hours within 
a calendar month. 

An IHSS recipient seeking an exception must make the request either 
prior to the event which caused the need for the exception request or as 
soon as safely possible afterwards, in order to avoid endangering the 
health and safety of the recipient. 

An example of an acceptable exception occurs in an unforeseen situation 
such as extra laundry services to clean soiled linen or clothing. 

A recipient must make the request prior to turning in the timesheet for the 
pay period in which the adjusted workweek occurred to ensure the 
provider is paid appropriately and timely. 

The recipient and provider will be notified by mail of the county’s 
exception approval or denial.    

If the exception was denied but the provider worked the hours and 
documented them on the timesheet, the provider will be paid but will also 
receive a violation notice.  An informational notice regarding the violation 
will be sent to the recipient. 
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Properly Completing Timesheets 
IHSS recipients and providers should keep a record of the hours and 
minutes worked each day.  Writing down the number of hours and 
minutes worked each day on a calendar will help providers fill out their 
timesheets accurately.  When transferring the hours and minutes onto the 
timesheet, providers should make sure they are written in the specified 
boxes.   

Timesheets are sent to providers twice per month. 

Providers can add the total number of hours and minutes worked per 
week and enter this number at the bottom of each workweek under the 
“Total” section.  This will help providers make sure they do not work more 
than the hours assigned by their recipient.  

Both the recipient and provider must sign and date the back of the 
timesheet before sending it in the pre-addressed return envelope. 
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Timesheet Tips 
Proper completion of timesheets will ensure prompt processing and 
payment.   

It is important for providers to follow the directions written on their 
timesheets, which includes the following: 

1. Only use black ink and press firmly.

2. Both the recipient and provider must sign and date the back of the
timesheet.

3. Cut along the dotted line.

4. Do not fold the timesheet.

5. Only enter hours and minutes for each day worked.

6. Only mail one timesheet per envelope.

7. Place the correct postage on the outside of the envelope.

These tips will help providers correctly complete and submit their 
timesheets to avoid delays in payment. 
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IHSS Envelopes
There are two important addresses recipients and providers must be 
aware of when mailing timesheets and/or Travel Claim Forms.   

1. Timesheets without Travel

If a provider does not require travel from one recipient to another 
within the same workday, the return envelope that accompanies 
the timesheet will have a black bar in the top left corner with the 
following pre-addressed location:  
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2. Timesheets with Travel

If a provider travels from one recipient to another within the same 
workday and claims travel time, the return envelope that 
accompanies the timesheet and Travel Claim Form will have a red 
bar in the top left corner with the following pre-addressed location:  

Using the correct envelope will help providers avoid delays in payment. 
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Travel Time & Travel Claim Forms 
IHSS providers are eligible to receive up to 7 hours of travel time pay 
each workweek when they work for multiple recipients and are required to 
travel from one job site directly to another job site on the same workday. 

Travel time does not include the time it takes providers to travel from their 
own home to the location where they provide services for a recipient or 
back home after their work is completed.  A provider’s time spent traveling 
between recipients’ locations does not count toward the maximum 
weekly hours and is not deducted from recipients’ monthly authorized 
hours. 

The provider must complete the IHSS Program Provider Workweek & 
Travel Time Agreement (SOC 2255).  The SOC 2255 will assist providers 
who work for multiple recipients on the same day with establishing a work 
schedule in order to stay within the maximum workweek limit of 66 hours.
The SOC 2255, especially Part B, must be correctly completed and 
submitted in order for the provider to be paid for travel time. 

The SOC 2255 must be updated and resubmitted when there is a change 
in providers and/or circumstances that result in a permanent change in 
any provider’s work schedule. 

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2255.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2255.pdf
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Once the SOC 2255 has been received and processed by the county, 
providers who are eligible to receive paid travel time will be sent a Travel 
Claim Form (SOC 2275) in the same envelope with their timesheets for 
each recipient they work for.  To claim travel time, providers will need to 
correctly fill out a Travel Claim Form. 

Travel time is claimed on the Travel Claim Form of the recipient that 
providers are traveling to.  If providers claim more than 7 hours of travel 
time in a workweek, they will be paid for the excess hours, but will receive 
a violation. 

In order for Travel Claim Forms to be paid, timesheets need to be 
processed first.  The timesheet and Travel Claim Form should be sent 
together in the pre-addressed envelope. 

Pre-addressed Envelope 
Red Bar  

(Top left corner) 

IHSS TIMESHEET PROCESSING FACILITY 
IHSS TRAVEL TIMESHEET 

PO BOX 272863 
CHICO, CA 95927-2863 

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2275.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2275.pdf
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Important Tips 

 Review the SOC 2271 and SOC 2271A. 

 Create a work schedule within the maximum weekly hours. 

 The IHSS Program Recipient and Provider Workweek Agreement 
(SOC 2256) assists recipients with scheduling the workweek for 
their provider(s) to ensure they stay within their maximum weekly 
hours. 

 Recipients with more than one provider must divide the maximum 
weekly hours between their providers and make sure the total 
weekly hours of all providers combined do not exceed the 
recipient’s maximum weekly hours.   

 Providers who work for more than one recipient cannot work more 
than a total of 66 hours in a workweek. 

 Understand and know when county approval is necessary to make 
adjustments to the maximum weekly hours. 

 Providers who work for multiple recipients need to understand 
travel time limitations. 
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How to Prevent Violations 
It is important for recipients and providers to follow all IHSS program and 
timesheet limitations so providers do not work and claim excess hours.  If 
providers fail to comply with the limitations, they will get a violation. 

The following actions will result in a violation: 

1. Working more than 40 hours in a workweek for a recipient without
the recipient getting approval from the county when the recipient is
authorized 40 hours or less in a workweek;

2. Working more hours for a recipient than the recipient is authorized
in a workweek without getting approval from the county and this
causes the provider to work more overtime hours in the month than
they normally would;

3. Working more than 66 hours in a workweek when the provider
works for more than one recipient;

4. Claiming more than 7 hours of travel time in a workweek.

If a provider has violated the weekly hourly overtime and/or travel time 
limitations, the county will send the provider a violation notice.   

A notice will also be sent to all of the recipients that the provider works 
for, informing them of the violation.  These notices will include details of 
the reason for the violation. 

The provider has 10 days from the date of the violation notice to request 
a county review of the violation.  Once the county receives the request for 
review, the county has 10 days to review and investigate the violation.  
The provider will receive a notice stating the outcome of the review.   

The third and fourth violation notice will explain how the provider may 
request a review by the California Department of Social Services Adult 
Programs Division’s Appeals Unit.  The provider must request the review 
within 10 days of the date of the county notice. 
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How to Become an IHSS Provider 

There are several steps you must follow to become a provider in the IHSS 
Program.  

1. Complete and sign the IHSS Program Provider Enrollment Form
(SOC 426) and return it in person to the County IHSS Office or IHSS
Public Authority.

2. Get fingerprinted and go through a criminal
background check by the California Department of
Justice.

3. Go to an IHSS Program Provider Orientation given
by the county. Here you will learn important
information about the program and the requirements
for you to follow as a provider.

4. Complete and sign the revised Provider Enrollment
Agreement (SOC 846).  This is the agreement that ALL IHSS
providers are required to complete and sign.  By signing the new
SOC 846, you are saying that you understand and agree to the
rules and requirements for being a provider in the IHSS Program
including the new overtime policy and maximum hourly limits.

Completion of the following two forms depends on your individual 
circumstances:  

The Recipient/Provider Workweek Agreement (SOC 2256) helps 
recipients with multiple providers make a work schedule.  You will need to 
sign this form if you work for a recipient who has multiple providers.  It 
keeps track of the number of hours each provider will work for the 
recipient each workweek.  The total number of hours in the workweek 
agreement must not exceed the recipient’s maximum weekly hours. 

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC426.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC426.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC846.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC846.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2256.pdf
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The Provider Workweek and Travel Time Agreement (SOC 2255) 
helps providers who work for multiple recipients make a work schedule, 
including travel time.  Providers who work for multiple recipients may not 
exceed 66 hours per workweek.  Travel time of 7 hours per workweek is 
separate and is not included in the 66 hour maximum limit. 

Once you have completed these steps and have been approved by the 
county or Public Authority to be an IHSS provider, you will continue to be 
eligible to provide services for any IHSS recipient as long as: 

• You are an active provider.

• Your criminal background check remains clear.

• You do not receive overtime or travel time violations which result in
your suspension or termination from the program.

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2255.pdf
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Communicating with your Recipient 

As a provider, it is important to communicate with your recipient(s) 
about workweek scheduling.  There are some important 
considerations if you work for more than one recipient or if your 
recipient has more than one provider. 

Provider Responsibilities: 
• If you work for only one recipient, you may work all of his/her

authorized hours.  If you work for more than one recipient, make sure
the total hours you work in a workweek for all recipients does not
total more than 66 hours per week.

• Tell the recipient when and how many hours you are available. This
helps the recipient decide if he/she will need to hire additional
providers to cover their authorized hours.

• Do not work or claim more hours than what you are assigned.
• Read the Provider Notification of Recipient Authorized Hours

and Service and Maximum Weekly Hours (SOC 2271) which tells
you your recipient’s monthly authorized hours, maximum weekly
hours and the services you are allowed to perform.

Recipient Responsibilities: 
• Set a schedule for each provider so that the total hours worked by all

providers is not more than your monthly authorized hours or maximum
weekly hours.

• Read the Recipient Notice of Maximum Weekly Hours (SOC
2271A) which will tell you how many maximum weekly hours you can
have your provider work for you.

• Be aware if your provider works for other recipients.  You may have to
hire another provider if he/she cannot work all of your authorized IHSS
hours.

• Understand how to adjust your hours from week to week if there is a
need and when to obtain county approval or not.

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2271.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2271.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2271A.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2271A.pdf
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Workweek Scheduling 

It is important for providers to understand the IHSS workweek rules 
and how to follow them while providing services to recipient(s).  

An IHSS workweek begins at 12:00 a.m. on Sunday and ends at 11:59 
p.m. the following Saturday. 

 
 
 

As an IHSS provider, you are now eligible to be 
paid overtime for hours worked over 40 hours 
in a workweek.  The overtime pay rate is one 
and a half times the regular pay rate. 

If you work for more than one recipient, it is your responsibility to make 
sure the total hours you work in a workweek for all recipients does not total 
more than 66 hours.  If you work for only one recipient, you may work all of 
his/her hours as long as you do not exceed the weekly maximum.  Always 
make sure you do not exceed your recipients’ monthly authorized hours 
and/or your recipient’s overtime limit.  

NOTE:  Some recipients may not have enough hours that allow overtime to 
be incurred.  Be sure not to exceed the maximum weekly number of hours 
for these recipients or incur overtime without first getting county approval. 

The Recipient/Provider Workweek Agreement (SOC 2256) helps 
recipients with multiple providers make a work schedule.  This form will be 
completed and signed by the recipient and each of his/her providers.  It 
keeps track of the number of hours each provider will work for the recipient 
each workweek.  The total number of hours in the workweek agreement 
must correspond to the recipient’s maximum weekly hours.   

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2256.pdf
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The Provider Workweek and Travel 
Agreement (SOC 2255) helps providers 
who work for multiple recipients make a 
workweek schedule. This form includes 
travel time, which is limited to 7 hours per 
workweek for providers who travel 
directly from providing service to one 
recipient to providing service to another 
recipient.   

Workweek Adjustments: 
There may be times when your recipient will ask you to adjust your work 
hours to meet his/her needs.  Your recipient may authorize an adjustment 
to your weekly work hours without county approval when all three of the 
following conditions are met: 

• You are the only provider;
• You don’t work for any other recipients;

AND 

• Your weekly work schedule is adjusted in the remaining workweeks
of that month to make sure you don’t work more than your recipient’s
monthly authorized hours or the approved overtime hours.

Your recipient will need to request approval from the county when the 
adjustment requires you to work: 

• More than 40 hours in a workweek if the recipient’s maximum weekly
hours are 40 hours or less,

OR 

• More overtime hours in the month than you would normally work.

You should always check with your recipient to make sure he/she has 
received approval before or as soon as possible after you have worked 

over 40 hours during a workweek.

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2255.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2255.pdf
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Travel Time

IHSS providers can be paid for travel time. Travel time is the time it 
takes a provider to travel directly from the location where they care 
for a recipient to another location to provide services for a different 
recipient on the same day.

There are some rules that apply to travel time:  
1. The maximum amount of time you are allowed to travel during a

workweek is 7 hours.
2. Travel time will not be counted as part of your assigned weekly

service hours.
3. Travel time will not be counted as part of your recipient’s maximum

weekly hours or monthly authorized hours.
4. Travel time does not include the time it takes to travel from your

home to the location where you are providing services or back to
your home after the work is completed.
NOTE:  If you provide services to a recipient in your home and need
to travel to another recipient to provide services, you will be paid
travel time TO the other recipient, but not back to your home after
services have been provided.

5. You will get paid for travel time for all types of transportation, such
as a car, bus, bicycle or train.

6. You must keep track of your travel time each week so that you can
report it on your timesheet.

Providers who work for multiple recipients will need to complete and sign 
an IHSS Provider Worksheet and Travel Time Agreement (SOC 2255).  
This agreement explains the workweek and travel time limitations, and 
includes areas for you to plan your workweek schedule and record the 
estimated travel time between recipients’ locations each week.  Completing 
the SOC 2255 will help make sure that you do not work more or travel more
than you are allowed to each workweek.   

Be careful in planning your travel time.  Remember that you cannot claim 
more than 7 hours of travel time in one workweek. 

 

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/cdssweb/entres/forms/English/SOC2255.pdf
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Wrap-Up
Correctly completing IHSS timesheets will help providers receive timely 
payments, avoid claiming hours above a recipient’s maximum weekly 
hours, and prevent mistakes that may result in untimely payments, 
violations, and/or termination from the IHSS program.  

We hope this handbook has helped recipients and providers better 
understand the changes in the IHSS program.  

For additional questions, contact your local county IHSS office or IHSS 
Public Authority, or visit the California Department of Social Services  
In-Home Supportive Services website at: 
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/agedblinddisabled/PG1296.htm.

http://www.cdss.ca.gov/agedblinddisabled/PG1296.htm





